BaseballAngels: Agreed to terms with P Bryan...



Angels: Agreed to terms with P Bryan Harvey on a one-year contract.

Astros: Traded P Dave Veres and C Raul Chavez to the Montreal Expos for 3B Sean Berry.

Athletics: Signed P Jim Corsi to a one-year contract. Tendered contract offers to SS Mike Bordick, IF Scott Brosius and OF Geronimo Berroa.

Blue Jays: Agreed to terms with P Juan Guzman and C Randy Knorr on one-year contracts. Agreed to terms with OF Mike Huff on a minor-league contract.

Brewers: Agreed to terms with OF David Hulse on a one-year contract.

Cardinals: Agreed to terms with C Danny Sheaffer on a one-year contract.

Cubs: Announced that they will not tender 1996 contracts to P Anthony Young and 3B Todd Zeile. Agreed to terms on one-year contracts with P Larry Casian, P Mike Perez and OF Luis Gonzalez.

Dodgers: Announced that they did not tender a 1996 contract to P Kevin Tapani. Tendered 1996 contracts to 28 players: P Pedro Astacio, P Billy Brewer, P Ramser Correa, P John Cummings, P Darren Dreifort, P Roberto Duran, P Joey Eischen, P Rick Gorecki, P Jesus Martinez, P Hideo Nomo, P Antonio Osuna, P Chan Ho Park, P Felix Rodriguez, P Ismael Valdes, P Brandon Watts, P Eric Weaver, IF Mike Blowers, IF Mike Busch, IF Juan Castro, IF Chad Fonville, IF Wilton Guerrero, IF Garey Ingram, OF Billy Ashley, OF Roger Cedeno, OF Karim Garcia, OF Todd Hollandsworth, OF Raul Mondesi and C Ken Huckaby.

Expos: Agreed to terms with IF Andy Stankiewicz on a minor-league contract. Announced they will not tender contracts for the 1996 season for P Gil Heredia and P David Leiper.

Indians: Agreed to terms with P Mark Clark on a one-year contract.

Marlins: Agreed to terms with P Chris Hammond on a one-year contract. Announced they will not offer P John Johnstone a 1996 contract, making him a non-tendered free agent.

Mariners: Named Orlando Gomez manager, Ron Romanick pitching coach, Darrin Garner coach and Henry Cotto player-coach for Single-A Port City.

Mets: Signed minor-league free-agent OF Gary Thurman. Announced that Gary Cohen has signed a two-year contract to (( remain as radio broadcaster.

Orioles: Signed free agent infielder-outfielder B. J. Surhoff, who had been with the Milwauke Brewers, to a three-year contract. Announced that they will not tender 1996 contracts to P Ben McDonald, P Terry Clark, 3B Leo Gomez and 2B Bret Barberie.

Padres: Named Brad Sloan director of scouting.

Rangers: Announced they will not tender 1996 contract offers to P Dennis Cook, IF Jeff Frye, IF Craig Worthington, IF Esteban Beltre and OF Lou Frazier.

Reds: Agreed to terms with C Ed Taubensee on a three-year contract; and P Pete Schourek and P Dave Burba on one-year contracts. Did not tender a contract offer to OF Jerome Walton.

Red Sox: Signed IF Tim Naehring to a one-year contract.

Rockies: Announced that they did not tender a 1996 contract to IF Roberto Mejia.

Royals: Agreed to terms with P Rusty Meacham, P Mike Magnante and C Henry Mercedes to one-year contracts.

White Sox: Announced they will not tender 1996 contracts to IF Craig Grebeck, P Scott Radinsky and P Jeff Shaw.

Yankees: Tendered 1996 contracts to 2B Pat Kelly, C Jim Leyritz, OF Bernie Williams, P Jeff Nelson, P John Wetteland and P Bob Wickman.

United States Women's Baseball League: Named former Orioles infielder Tito Landrum commissioner.


NBA: Fined the Miami Heat $25,000 for failing to make its players available to the media prior to the game in New York on Tuesday.


Rutgers: Named Terry Shea football coach, and signed him to a five-year contract.


Broncos: Placed DE Dan Williams and DE Willie Oshodin on injured reserve. Signed TE Jeff Wilner and DE Larry Jackson.

Cardinals: Signed FB Oscar Gray from the practice squad.

Buccaneers: Signed WR Marvin Marshall from the practice squad.

Jaguars: Signed WR Terrence Warren.

Raiders: Placed QB Jeff Hostetler on injured reserve.


American Hockey League: Announced that Tom Watt of the St. John's Maple Leafs will coach the Canadian team and Robbie Ftorek of Albany will coach the U.S. team in the All-Star Game on Jan. 16.

Blackhawks: Sent W Mike Prokopec to IHL Indianapolis. Reassigned F Andy MacIntyre from Indianapolis to ECHL Columbus.

Flyers: Assigned D Jason Bowen from AHL Hershey. Recalled D Aris Brimanis from Hershey.

Islanders: Suspended C Kirk Muller indefinitely without pay.

Oilers: Recalled G Fred Brathwaite and LW Dean McAmmond from AHL Cape Breton. Assigned RW Dennis Bonvie and G Joaquin Gage to Cape Breton.

Rangers: Assigned LW Peter Ferraro to AHL Binghamtom.

Stars: Acquired C Joe Nieuwendyk from the Calgary Flames for C Corey Millen and the rights to F Jarome Iginla. Signed Nieuwendyk to a five-year contract.


Silverbacks (NPSL): Signed D Chuck Codd to a three-year contract.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad