Loyola's Doyle excels on field, in classroom


The Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference has rewarded Loyola's Chris Doyle for his proficiency on the soccer field and in the classroom.

Doyle, a senior midfielder, was named the MAAC's Player of the Year after leading the Greyhounds to their seventh consecutive league championship. He scored one goal and assisted on seven in his fourth year as a starter.

This wasn't his only honor, though. Doyle also was chosen to the MAAC All-Academic team for the third consecutive year. A writing/media major, he has a 3.4 grade-point average.

Six other Greyhounds were recognized by the MAAC for their athletic accomplishments. Senior defender Dave Briles (two goals, two assists), senior forward Bill Heiser (11 goals, eight assists), senior midfielder Marc Harrison (eight goals, nine assists), junior forward Ari Edelman (11 goals, five assists), junior goalkeeper Joe Schafer (94 saves, eight shutouts) and freshman defender Eric Coles (one goal) were named to the first team. Harrison was honored for the fourth straight year, and Heiser made it for the third time. Schafer also was selected the conference's Goalkeeper of the Year.

Senior midfielder Will Cirrincione, an elementary education major with a 3.2 GPA, joined Doyle on the All-Academic team.

Tough conference

Towson State athletic director Wayne Edwards has found out how difficult it is to arrange football games against Ivy League schools, though it hasn't affected his sense of humor.

Edwards was sent a composite schedule by Ivy League commissioner Jeff Orleans through the year 2010, and there were only six open dates. Towson secured Columbia and Pennsylvania on the road in 1997, when it debuts in the Patriot League.

"I'm working with Yale right now, and we're hoping to play them in 2001," Edwards said. "I talked to Columbia about a return game and was told the earliest we could do it was 2011. I added that up to what my age is [50] and told them I wasn't sure it was worth it."

Record breakers

Goucher juniors Christy Sullivan and Mike Raley each broke two school swimming records in losses to Capital Athletic Conference rival Mary Washington.

Sullivan won the 1,000-yard freestyle in 11 minutes, 05.99 seconds and took second in the 500 freestyle in 5:24.87. Raley took the 200 backstroke in 2:01.25 and the 200 breaststroke in 2:14.24.


Towson State's women's basketball team will be without junior Trinette Tucker, last season's Big South Player of the Year, for the early part of the season because of a foot injury. Tucker was named to the preseason All-NAC team after averaging 19.2 points last season. . . . Loyola volleyball players Jess Morgan, Patty Menz, Debbie Snyder and Wendy Vinje were named to the 1995 Academic All-Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference team. . . . Mount St. Mary's senior guard Chris McGuthrie was chosen to the preseason All-Northeast Conference men's team. Amy Langville, the Mount's 5-8 junior guard, was named to the preseason All-NEC women's team. . . . Six members of the Johns Hopkins football team were named to the All-Centennial Conference first team: senior running back Hari Lymon, senior tight end Pete Lambis, senior center Joe Joch, junior offensive tackle Damian Lavelle, sophomore kicker Todd Bencivenni and senior safety Rob McGuire. Sophomore linebacker Carl Cangelosi and senior cornerback Preston Young made second team, and senior linebacker Victor Carter-Bey was honorable mention. . . . For the second straight year, Salisbury State's Jen Bowman, a 5-6 senior setter, has been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association All-Mid Atlantic Region team. . . . Navy forward Cori Thornton, fullback Nicole Aunapu and goalkeeper Amy Hakola were named to the All-Patriot League women's soccer first team. Midfielder Carrie Dalton and fullback Amy Mills made the second team. . . . Navy outside hitter Gina Foltz made the All-Patriot League volleyball second team. . . . Five players from the College of Notre Dame were chosen to the Academic All-American team by the College Field Hockey Coaches Association: Rachel Barnes, Meghan Hill, Debbie Sydnor, Sarah Martin and Michele Sanford. Barnes and Sanford were repeat selections.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad