THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

St. Mary's and St. Paul's share MIAA B crown


Everyone who played in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association B Conference title game yesterday left UMBC Stadium a champion, but none of the participants seemed very happy.

After battling for 100 minutes, including two 10-minute overtime periods, St. Mary's and St. Paul's finished in a 2-2 tie and were declared B Conference co-champs.

The Crusaders (12-6-2), who last won the title back in 1983, scored in the 18th minute when Chris Horich sent a slicing shot past the St. Mary's goalie Matt Miletich for a 1-0 lead.

St. Mary's (13-3-3), which had never won or even shared a title, knotted the score 9:38 into the second half on an unassisted goal by Marcus LaChapelle and the Saints took the lead just under three minutes later on an unassisted goal by Chris Criswell.

Horich's second goal tied the game for good with 23 minutes left.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad