Baltimore Sun’s BEST party in 2 weeks

Boy Scout troop celebrates 20th anniversary


Boy Scout Troop 75, sponsored by Christ Memorial Presbyterian Church, Allview, celebrated its 20th anniversary during its Court of Honor.

Three of the troop's six former scoutmasters, Don Umberger (1980-1987), Jack Eckstom (1987-1991) and Joel Meredith (1991-1994) spoke to the Scouts and their guests about their Scouting experiences.

Current Scoutmaster Pat Roth presented rank advancements to Russ Howey (Scout), Josh Roth (Tenderfoot), Dominic Maccherone and James Oltmanns (Second Class), Jonathan Tebeleff (First Class), Marty Oltmanns and Nick Thomas (Life) and Joe Blasi, Jeremy Miller and Jason Slanga (Star).

Jonathan Barnes received the Gold Medal Award as Senior Patrol Leader and having his troop earn the Honor Troop Award while at summer camp at Hawk Mountain Boy Scout Reservation.

The Totin Chip Award, earned by 11 Scouts, recognizes the boys' responsibility and ability with a pocketknife.

The Den Chief Service and Mile Swim awards were earned by Nick Thomas.

Four assistant scoutmasters and six Scouts received 50 Miler Award patches for satisfactory participation in a 50-consecutive-mile wilderness trail, canoe or boat trip. Adults Dick Barnes, Tom Fulcher, Joel Kennedy and Tom Loughran earned the patch, as did Scouts Jon Barnes, Phil Browning, Keith Cooley, Brett Kennedy, Chris Roth and Stan Ward.

Recently elected troop youth leaders were inducted at the Court of Honor; they will lead the troop for the next six months. Senior patrol leader is Phil Browning, assistant senior patrol leaders are Jonathan Leshin, Alex Perry, and Mike Schaffer. Patrol leaders are Nick Thomas, Greg Schively, Marty Oltmanns, Bryan Levay and Joe Blasi.

Troop positions recognized were chaplain's aide Nick Thomas, quartermaster Jason Slanga, librarian David Moore and scribe Bryan Levay.

Pineapple fund-raiser

Phelps Luck Elementary School, Long Reach village, has something new in the way of a fund-raiser.

Students are selling Hawaiian pineapples with added coupons from Dole Pineapple Co. The top salesperson will win a seven-day vacation in Hawaii.

A kids' cookbook will be presented to every student who turns in an order form.

If you like pineapple but don't know any Phelps Luck students or parents, call 313-6886 or 596-4133.

Thanks-For-Giving dinner

Tradition and Thanksgiving seem to go together. Pastor Steve McNeely, Columbia Baptist Fellowship, Oakland Mills Meeting House, has announced Nov. 12 as the date of the church deacons' annual Thanks-For-Giving dinner.

Guests are asked to bring desserts. Call 730-2026 for details.

Development discussion

Jerry Brock of Howard Research and Development will be the guest speaker at the Owen Brown Village Board meeting Nov. 7.

He will discuss the development of the former General Electric property off of Snowden River Parkway. Please call 381-0202 for information on the 7 p.m. meeting.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad