THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

4-H Achievement Night honors youngsters for their efforts


SOME OF HOWARD County's finest youngsters were honored Friday at the County 4-H Achievement Night. Welcomed by emcees Jason Murray and Molly Regennitter, the largely 4-H audience heard about the work and accomplishments of 4-H'ers from ages 6 to 19.

Warren Strader represented the Glenwood Lions Club, which sponsors the Community Service and Leadership Awards and the Leadership, Achievement and Citizenship project awards.

Dr. Wendy Feaga, a local veterinarian who takes care of many western Howard County animals, participated as a leader of the Hareraisers 4-H Club and a sponsor of the Rabbit Clover Award (( and the Top Clover Award. Clovers are 6- and 7-year-old 4-H'ers.

The Howard County 4-H All-Star organization, an honorary group whose membership is by invitation, received new members Madeline Beck, Jennifer Bly, Diane Boose, Christine Bouma, Justin Brendel, Joan Bosmans, Darryllann Bushling, Diana Cullum, Linda Hodiak, Peggy Howell, Jerry Rafle and Thembi Scott.

The All-Stars' Marjorie Eyler presented the Elsie Cavey Memorial Awards to Amanda Hauf, Cortney Hill-Dukehart, David Nuenke and Rebecca Warfield. Mrs. Cavey was 4-H secretary in Howard County for almost 20 years.

The 4-H All-Stars presented the Jenny Olson Memorial awards to junior Bryan Bosmans and senior Daniela Bals for their horse record-keeping. Jenny Olson, a Glenelg High School student killed in an auto accident in February 1992, always submitted great 4-H records, was president of the Centaurs 4-H Horse Club and had great 4-H spirit.

Megan Rynarzewski and Robert Currier received the sheep record-keeping awards in memory of Jennifer Turner, a Daisy Agricultural 4-H Club member killed in an auto accident in December 1992.

Daniela Bals, Jennifer Bly, Jessica Leatherman and Kerry Quinn received $100 awards in honor of Bea Pfefferkorn, a 4-H leader for more than 50 years and a 4-H All-Star. Ellen Regennitter and Nathaniel Haines received silver dishes for their outstanding record books from the Central Maryland Farm Credit Association.

Heather Rynarzewski won the prestigious Key Award, given by the Maryland Agricultural Board to recognize an outstanding 4-H member. Thembi Scott will attend a leadership camp at Camp Miniwanca in Michigan next summer for earning the I Dare You award, given by the American Youth Foundation to acknowledge a Howard County 4-H'er who embodies integrity, balanced living and motivation for leadership.

Winners of November trips to the National 4-H Youth Congress in Tennessee are Daniela Bals, Alison Brown, Robert Currier, Lara Haase, Amy Iager and Heather Rynarzewski. They presented outstanding record books in their project areas. After state-level interviews, these six were selected to participate in the Youth Congress.

Anointing of the sick

St. Louis Catholic Church in Clarksville will have a Mass of Anointing at 3 p.m. Sunday. The sacrament of anointing is for Christians whose health is seriously impaired by sickness or old age. St. Louis offers the Sacrament of Anointing as a comfort and support for community members, both Catholic and


Information: 531-6040.

Map games

Sheila Nixon, former PTA president at Lisbon Elementary and Glenwood Middle, never stops finding good ideas to improve local schools. Her latest find for Lisbon Elementary is a large colorful map of the United States painted on the blacktop.

Principal Lou Chillemi, in a note to parents, says that the map, large enough for a whole classroom of children to stand on, will be used to teach geography and social studies.

Volunteers from the Pioneer Club of AT&T; painted the map.

Spaghetti benefit

The Ladies Auxiliary of the 5th District Volunteer Fire Department invite you to a spaghetti dinner from 5 p.m. until 8 p.m. Oct. 21.

For $5, you can eat your fill of spaghetti with meat sauce, salad, garlic bread, dessert and iced tea and coffee at the fire station Banquet Hall at Routes 108 and 32 in Clarksville.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad