Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!

Brooks completes Ironman for 16th time, most in history


KAILUA-KONA, Hawaii -- Baltimore businesswoman Lyn Brooks has become the charter member of an exclusive endurance organization.

Brooks completed the Ironman Triathlon World Championship in 14 hours, 54 minutes, 54 seconds late Saturday night to become the event's first 16-time finisher.

"I always show up for the adventure," said Brooks, who has endured horrendous knee problems but has finished the race every year since 1981 and also the two times it was held in 1982. "It's a very personal thing when I come down the finish along Alii Drive."

Mark Allen, of Cardiff, Calif., overcame a 13 1/2 -minute deficit to Thomas Hellriegel of Germany to win the men's division in 8:20:54, his sixth title.

Karen Smyers, of Lincoln, Mass., passed a collapsed Paula Newby-Fraser in the final 300 yards to capture the women's division in 9:16:46.

Brooks had been tied with former winner Scott Tinley for most finishes. But Tinley withdrew after 12 miles of the marathon.

A field of 1,487, the largest in race history, began the 19th edition of the 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike and 26.2-mile run a few minutes before the traditional 7 a.m. start at the Kailua Pier. Although temperature and water conditions were good, winds estimated at more than 40 mph hampered the cyclists.

There were a record 1,323 finishers, including 15 Marylanders. -- Amateur George Altieri of Columbia was the state's leading finisher, placing 72nd overall in 9:34:59.

But it was the state's final finisher, Darryl Haley of Mitchellville, who attracted as much, if not more, attention than the winners. The 6-foot-8, 300-pound former offensive lineman for the New England Patriots and Cleveland Browns walked much of the marathon. But with several thousand spectators chanting his name, he finished in 16:44:15, ahead of only five others.

Maryland finishers: 72. George Altieri, Columbia, 9:34:59 145. Brian Davis, Bethesda, 9:57:50 292. Charles Racoosin, Great Falls, 10:30:50 305. Steve Meade, Ft. Meade, 10:34:23 592. Mike Little, Columbia, 11:32:20 805. Chris Riley, Annapolis, 12:21:56 904. Britt McCormick, Columbia, 12:49:54 1036. Ed Trottier, Columbia, 13:32:47 1043. Kevin Gould, Baltimore, 13:35:36 1071. Marge Burley, Baltimore, 13:48:57 1140. Stephen Sussman, Baltimore, 14:20:25 1183. Ray Stevens, Easton, 14:39:53 1209. Lyn Brooks, Baltimore, 14:54:54 1308. Terrence Conway, Salisbury, 16:20:51. 1318. Darryl Haley, Mitchellville, 16:44:15.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad