Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!





Division prediction

The Dallas Cowboys should breeze to the division title, and the Washington Redskins figure to finish last. That leaves the other three teams -- the New York Giants, the Philadelphia Eagles and the Arizona Cardinals -- in a scramble for second and third, and wild-card spots.

1. Dallas Cowboys

1994 record: Won division with a 12-4 record, lost NFC title game at San Francisco.

Coach: Barry Switzer (13-5).

Key additions: rr C Ray Donaldson, QB Wade Wilson and RB Sherman Williams.

Key losses: WR Alvin Harper, C Mark Stepnoski, DE Jim Jeffcoat, James Washington, S Kenneth Gant and QB Rodney Peete.

Strengths: The Cowboys still have the Big Three -- Troy Aikman, Emmitt Smith and Michael Irvin -- on offense, and still have Charles Haley anchoring the defense.

Weaknesses: They lost supporting cast members Harper and Stepnoski to free agency. They have to wonder whether Erik Williams will make it all the way back from a knee injury he suffered in an auto accident and whether Barry Switzer's laid-back style can take them to the Super Bowl.

Extra point: If Paul Tagliabue has to present the Super Bowl trophy to Jerry Jones, it may be the NFL's best scene since Pete

Rozelle had to give it to Al Davis.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad