Tipton Airfield citizens' panel created


County Executive John G. Gary signed an agreement yesterday creating a Tipton Airfield citizens' advisory committee to help get the civilian airport up and running.

The agreement with Howard County represents another step in the march toward total civilian control of the Army airfield at Fort Meade, Mr. Gary said.

"I'm very excited that we have Howard County as a partner," Mr. Gary said in a printed statement, adding that he believes it could attract business and jobs to both counties.

The seven-member advisory committee will work with a similar panel from Howard County, making recommendations to the airfield's operating manager. The agreement dissolves both panels when a formal, civilian airport authority is established to govern its operation.

Mr. Gary has appointed Glenn C. Parker, chairman; Charles F. Delavan, Marc J. Jartman, Norman G. Myers, Michael W. Owen, Rayburn H. Smallwood and Robert R. Strott.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad