28 candidates vie to fill District Court judgeship


Twenty-eight names appear on the list of candidates to fill a vacant judgeship in the District Court for Harford County, including two of four candidates still in the running for a Harford County Circuit Court judgeship.

The position became vacant when Judge John S. Landbeck Jr. decided not to seek another 10-year term in February amid allegations that he had made inappropriate remarks or gave unwelcome attention to several women in the courthouse.

Candidates to succeed Judge Landbeck include Diana A. Brooks of Thomas Run, north of Churchville, and Jay Elliot Robinson of Forest Hill. Both are assistant state's attorneys in Harford County.

Ms. Brooks and Mr. Robinson are waiting, along with John E. Kelley of Fallston and Thomas E. Marshall of Bel Air, to be called for interviews with Gov. Parris N. Glendening, who will select a fifth judge for Harford County Circuit Court.

Also on the District Court judgeship list provided by Michael O'Malley, an assistant administrator in the state Office of the Courts, are: Christopher J. Romano, chief of criminal investigations for the state attorney general's office; H. Scott Lewis, former assistant state's attorney in Harford County and now an investigator for the state attorney general; Michael Kent Sanger, an assistant state's attorney for Harford County; Theodore M. Hart, the juvenile master for Harford Circuit Court; and Saundra Louise Warner, a Harford County public defender.

Of the 28 candidates, nine are women and 20 have practices based in Bel Air.

The candidates will be interviewed by the Trial Courts Judicial Nominating Commission, which will recommend a short list of candidates to the governor.

The remaining candidates and the location of their law practices include: H. Edward Andrews III, Bel Air; Charles Robert Boutin, Aberdeen; Victor Kuras Butanis, Bel Air; Arthur Francis Carven III, Bel Air; Robert Andrew Diem, Bel Air; Paula Sutton Etting, Bel Air; Nancy Levy Giorno, Baldwin; Janet Marie Bush Handy, Bel Air; Frederick J. Hatem Jr., Bel Air; and Rebecca Lynn Heyman-Magaziner, Pikesville.

The others are: Michael Clifford Hickey Jr., Edgewood; William Davis Hooper Jr., Bel Air; Robert Francis Kahoe Jr., Bel Air; Charles Edward Kearney Jr., Bel Air; Elzbieta Adamska Scheid, Bel Air; Steven J. Scheinin, Aberdeen; Carl Ridgeley Schlaich, Bel Air; Judith Cline Silverstein, Bel Air; Betty Stemley Sconion, Aberdeen; Patrick P. Spicer, Bel Air; and Lawrence Francis Stevenson, Bel Air.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad