Born wins Cruising Cup race


This year's Virginia Cruising Cup race from Annapolis to Hampton, Va., drew a PHRF fleet of 36 starters in five splits for the annual 120-mile chase down the Bay, beginning Friday morning, July 7.

PHRF A-1 winner Rick Born of Baltimore brought the crew aboard his J/35 Grayling in for the win by a comfortable margin of nearly 40 minutes in class and posted the best finish in the fleet to win the Virginia Cruising Cup.

Born described his team's 23-plus-hour contest almost as two different races in one, with light and patchy air for the first 14 or 15 hours, followed by a brief squall which brought fresh northwesterlies of 10 to 15 knots for the remainder of the course.

"We used every sail we had on the boat but the No. 4, on all points of sail," said Born, a veteran of 20 Virginia Cruising Cup races over the years.

"It was slow for the first half, but then the breeze filled in and we came in under spinnaker. We did a whole lot of playing the currents and playing the shoreline, and looking for wind shifts. We got the [shifts] we needed, and some private breezes of our own."

The overall fleet, which has been shrinking over the past few years, again was down substantially this year from previous turnouts, and consisted predominantly of boats from the southern Bay, with fewer than half of the entries making their home port in the Baltimore-Annapolis area.

Virginia Cruising Cup

PHRF A-0 (5 starters): 1. Sundog, Paul & Kathy Parks, 21:19:28 c.t.; 2. Battlewagon, John Hanna, 21:22:31 c.t.; 3. Fatal Attraction, Gray Kiger, 21:31:13 c.t.

PHRF A-1 (9 starters): 1. Grayling, Richard Born, 21:14:59 c.t.; 2. Revenge, Bill Peach, 21:52:15 c.t.; 3. Easy J, Gene Rackel, 21:59:36 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (7 starters): 1. Goblin's Kiss, Pat Patterson, 21:25:35 c.t.; 2. Resurrection, Bill Spencer, 21:33:27 c.t.; 3. Liverpool Jarge, Glawson/Manion, 21:38:51 c.t.

PHRF B (3 starters): 1. Smoke, Dan Smoker, 21:36:28 c.t.

PHRF C (12 starters): 1. Lively Lady, David Lively, 23:11:50 c.t.; 2. Envy, CNU Sail Team, 1:03:01:04 c.t.; 3. Zig Zag, Ed Hatch, 1:03:15:03 c.t.; 4. Bittersweet II, Jeff Chewning, 1:03:48:26 c.t.


Ted Osius Memorial

It was another good turnout for the Sailing Club of the Chesapeake's popular annual Ted Osius Memorial Regatta last weekend, when the 45 bigger boats of the three PHRF A divisions and PHRF B hit the starting line on Saturday for a 12-mile government mark race, followed on Sunday by a contest for the 64 smaller PHRF, MORC, and Cruising One-Design division entries, in which the J/30s and Pearson 30s, and the MORC and PHRF C and D competitors ventured out on a 9.2-mile course while their counterparts in Catalina 27s, Cal 25s and Alberg 30s sailed a 7.6-mile version.

The results were littered with protests that remain to be sorted out, so standings in seven of the 12 classes remained provisional.

Among the results free of controversy were a six-second win for Sandy Morse's team aboard Jake over the Zinn family's Infringer in PHRF A-1, a 12-second win for George Prout's Mountain Lion Eater over Steve Schaub's Contraire team in PHRF A-2 on Saturday, and a more comfortable two-minute victory for PHRF B winner Guy Collins and his Quicksilver crew over Len Eastman's

Hilite team.

Ted Osius Memorial Regatta

July 8

PHRF A-0 (3 starters, protests pending): 1. Ramrod, Bert Jabin, 1:10:00 c.t.; 2. Antares, D. Sharpe, 1:18:35 c.t.; 3. Muskrat, Iliff, 1:43:36 c.t.

PHRF A-1 (20 starters, protest pending): 1. Jake, Sandy Morse, 1:34:12 c.t.; 2. Infringer, Donald Zinn, 1:34:18 c.t.; 3. Privateer, [skipper's name unavailable], 1:35:05 c.t.; 4. Sounion, Charles Sullivan, 1:35:36 c.t.; 5. ESS, Ken Swiecicki, 1:35:49 c.t.

PHRF A-2 (16 starters): 1. Mountain Lion Eater, George Prout, 1:36:24 c.t.; 2. Contraire, Steve Schaub, 1:36:36 c.t.; 3. Good Times, William Schwarz, 1:36:40 c.t.; 4. No Breaks, Richard Hinds, 1:36:54 c.t.; 5. The Fish, Lipshinn Syndicate, 1:37:29 c.t.

PHRF B (6 starters): 1. Quicksilver, Guy Collins, 1:33:49 c.t.; 2. Hilite, Leonard Eastman, 1:36:27 c.t.; 3. Cut And Paste, John White, 1:41:18 c.t.

July 9

J/30 (20 starters, protests pending): 1. Summer, B. duPont; 2. Blue Moon, Jim Ellis; 3. BeBop, Rutsch/Aras; 4. Sea Biscuit, Dorsey Owings; 5. Hot Rod, John Dallam.

Pearson 30 (5 starters): 1. English Muffin, Philip Tierney; 2. Andiamo, Edgar Paglee; 3. Constellation, Henry Starr.

MORC (12 starters, protest pending): 1. Cut And Paste, John White, 2:20:52 c.t.; 2. Azure, David Prucnal, 2:23:21 c.t.; 3. Grimlin, Grimm, 2:23:43 c.t.; 4. Second Repeat, Lees/Kushner, 2:24:53 c.t.

PHRF C (5 starters, protest pending): 1. Scrimshaw, Charles Deakyne, 2:24:03 c.t.; 2. Critical Mass, John Lanigan, 2:26:56 c.t.; 3. Firecracker, Bretsch/Dersch, 2:27:31 c.t.

PHRF D (1 starter): 1. Wildfire, Bay, 3:02:59 c.t.

Catalina 27 (10 starters, protest pending): 1. Chaos, Jack Graham; 2. Pussycat, Bruce Johnson; 3. Gusto, John Potvin.

Cal 25 (7 starters, protest pending): 1. Blades, David Wooldridge; 2. White Cap, Timothy Bloomfield; 3. Ronin, Matt Mayfield. Alberg 30 (4 starters): 1. Argo, Peter Scheidt; 2. Marlin, B. Marshall; 3. Lingin, Bruce Rankin.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad