Powell re-appointed to CCC trusteesNeal W. Powell,...


Powell re-appointed to CCC trustees

Neal W. Powell, former mayor and city manager of Taneytown, has been re-appointed by Gov. Parris N. Glendening to the Carroll Community College Board of Trustees for a second term. He was sworn in at the June trustees meeting for a six-year term.

Mr. Powell, who just completed two years on the board of trustees, will resume his duties as co-chairman of the Finance and Site/Policies and Procedures Committee.

In that position he is responsible for reviewing college financial statements and policies and providing the board with informational reports so that it may approve the capital and operating budgets.

The seven-member Carroll Community College Board of Trustees is charged with establishing policy governing the college, approving its academic program and acting as liaisons with the county, state and community.

Lehigh donates funds for literacy program

Lehigh Portland Cement Co. in Union Bridge recently donated money to help support a Family Literacy Program at Elmer Wolfe, Runnymede, Taneytown and Charles Carroll elementary schools.

The program, which is sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education, encourages communication between schools and families with kindergarten students.

The funds from Lehigh have been used to purchase books for students to use at home. Bruce Robertson of Lehigh was responsible for establishing the partnership between the school system and the company.

He is a member of the executive board of Partners in Family Learning, chairman of the legislative committee that seeks state funding for literacy, and a board member of the Carroll County Children's Council.

WMC graduate tapped for education honor

Gertrude Galloway, a Western Maryland College master's degree recipient in education and a school superintendent in New Jersey, will be honored with the Joseph R. Bailer Award at a dinner Wednesday.

The award, named for one of the college's most highly respected career educators, is presented annually to a master's alumnus or alumna who has made a contribution to education.

Dr. Galloway, who earned her master's in education in 1972, has served the Marie H. Katzenbach School for the Deaf in West Trenton as an administrator since the early 1990s. At age 15, she graduated from Kendall School for the Deaf, at Gallaudet University in Washington.

After moving to Maryland, she entered Western Maryland's education of the deaf program, where she also taught sign language for several years. Dr. Galloway was hired to teach math by the Maryland School for the Deaf and in 1973 was named assistant principal of its Columbia campus. In 1990 she accepted the position at Katzenbach, where she became the first female superintendent of any of the nation's 50 state schools for the deaf.

At Katzenbach School for the Deaf, she oversees students up to age 21 who are able to learn business training, graphic arts, drafting, food services, construction trades, service occupations, manufacturing, and mechanical/metal trades.

The Joseph R. Bailer Award was established by the family of Dr. Bailer to honor his educational career as chairman of the WMC Education Department and director of its graduate program from 1949 to 1971.


Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad