Atholton, Wilde Lake students receive honors


Although school is out for summer, there are still more kudos for the 1995 graduating classes of Atholton and Wilde Lake high schools.

The following Atholton students were recognized by the Maryland Distinguished Scholar Program for outstanding academic achievement.

Finalists: Joo Yoon Chung, Margaret Duffy and Eric Lemar.

Semi-finalists: Jonathan Edwards, David Friedman, Justin Funches, Elizabeth McQueen, Joshua Prangley and Thei Schlossnagle.

Honorable mention: Stephen Bard, Rachael Black, Jordanna Dworkin, Christopher Flor, Derek Gaines, Christine Gavin, Allison Gleit, Kendra Gottsman, Brandon Hartz, Melissa Hill, Andrew Levine, Sara Mikowicz, Jennifer Moran, Raquel Pasiecznik, Brian Racine, Matthew Radik, Ryan Rees, Khalid Rizvi and Seung Shin Yoo.

The following Wilde Lake students were recognized by the Maryland Distinguished Scholar Program.

Finalists: Chad Whipsky and Andrew Zimdars.

Honorable mention: Carrie Brelsford, Anthony DeSantis, Jason Engel, Andrew Engel, Krista Entrop, Omar Fahmy, Elise Oesterreicher, Heidi Olson, Erin Ou, Lisa Poltilove, Vishnu Ranganathan, Amy Sheff, Zareen Siddiqui, Cristina Turney and Luke Watson.

Awards from the National Achievement Program for Outstanding Negro Students were received by Justin Funches of Atholton, and Rames Denny Rogers of Wilde Lake.

The Jewish Big Brother and Big Sister League of Baltimore has awarded a scholarship to Dana Jacobson of Wilde Lake High School.

The award was presented at the league's recent annual meeting.


And, here's news of an award presented to one of Wilde Lake High School's outstanding teachers.

Charles Koppelman, a math teacher at Wilde Lake, was selected as the third-place winner in the Edyth May Sliffe Award for Distinguished High School Mathematics Teaching. The award recognizes outstanding teachers for their efforts to teach and effectively develop the math talents of high school students.

Mr. Koppelman is one of only 22 educators selected from high schools throughout the United States and Canada.


The FACTS program at Running Brook Elementary School received national attention recently when it was awarded the Most Outstanding Program of the Year award from the National Association of Counties.

FACTS is designed to strengthen academic growth of students by increasing the interaction of parents, students and teachers through the promotion of various activities, such as fashion shows, homework workshops and family fun nights.

A grant from the Maryland Department of Education, with help from the Howard County Department of Recreation and Parks, helped get the program started.

However, it was the hard work of Program Director Nancy Berla and a group of volunteer parents and teachers that made the program successful.


An essay by Stacy Cowley, a junior at Atholton High School, was featured in a recent issue of "Writer's International Forum."

The essay, titled "Last Year," chronicled the special challenges Ms. Cowley encountered over the past year, and tells how her interest in writing has helped her with those challenges.


Atholton High School was one of two Howard County high schools to win a $125 award in the Nationwide Insurance Prom Promise competition. Oakland Mills High School also won.

The Prom Promise program encourages high school students to remain drug- and alcohol-free on prom night.

On Thursday, 15 representatives from each high school were presented the school awards at ceremonies held at the Adventure World theme park in Largo. The money will go toward next year's Prom Promise activities.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad