THB, Banditos, Wayward and more confirmed for Cosmic Cocktail!

State arts council selects award winners


The Maryland State Arts Council selected 93 Maryland artists to receive Individual Artist Awards totaling $200,000. Out-of-state juries representing 10 artistic disciplines reviewed a total of 909 anonymous applications to select recipients of $1,000, $3,000, and $6,000 grants. All grants were determined solely on the basis of artistic merit. The awards are as follows:

Choreography: $3,000: Stephanie Powell, Kenneth W. Skrzesz; $1,000: Eva Anderson, Nancy Havlik, Ilona Kessell.

Music: $6,000: Steve Jones, Susan Graham White; $3,000: Lori Laitman.

Fiction: $3,000: Judith Speizer Crandell, Maribeth Fischer, Robert Hiles, Susan Land, Lynda Schor; $1,000: Suzanne Greenberg, Halvard Johnson, Paul Kafka, Julie L. Langsdorf, Cynthia Lollar, Susan Groff Shorr, Mary M. Truitt, Tracy Wallace.

Playwriting: $3,000: Joseph Edgar Dennison, Jonathon K. Tycko; Gary B. Corbin, David Ian Gresty, Arnett J. Holloway, Vivian Mason, Kathryn O'Sullivan, Victor Schonfeld, Jonathan L. Short, Anthony Tsendeas, Darryl LeMont Wharton.

Media: $3,000: Ronald Wayne Boone, John Bright Mann; $1,000: Philip K. Davis, Lisa Lewenz, Alan Price, Philip "Bump" Stadelman.

Poetry: $3,000: William Cannon, Karen Fish, Barbara Hurd, Paul Kohl, Elizabeth Mary Larson, Edgar Silex; $1,000: Toi Derricotte, Bruce A. Jacobs, Madeleine Mysko, Eileen Silver-Lillyhwite, Michael C. Smith, Angela Vogel.

Visual Arts, Crafts: $6,000: Richard Cleaver; $3,000: Ken Girardini, Joseph Paul Moran.

Visual Arts, Photography: $3,000: Carl Bower, Vasant Nayak, Robert Salazar, James Sherwood; $1,000: Michael Northrup, Gene Young.

Visual Arts, Three Dimensional: $6,000: Natalie Bookchin; $3,000: Brent Crothers, Jann Rosen-Queralt, Izumi Ueda; $1,000: Scot Cahlander, Mary Annella Frank, Allyn Massey, John H. Ruppert, Jeff Spaulding, Mercedes Teixido, Thomas B. Witt.

Visual Arts, Two Dimensional: $6,000: Dan Bradford, Ellen Burchenal, Patrick M. Locicero; $3,000: Susan Abbott, Jennifer M. Berringer, Inga Frick, Carol Miller Frost, Barbara Marcus, Garry Mitchell, Roberta Morgan, Mary Beth Muscara, William Swetcharnik; $1,000: Richard L. Dana, Deborah Donelson, Sue Johnson, Leonard Koscianski, A. Juanita Maldonado, Pontella Mason, Claudia McDonough, Gina Pierleoni, Jo Smail, Howie Lee Weiss, Bruce M. Widdows.

Peabody student wins prize

Yuliya Gorenman, a doctoral candidate at the Peabody Conservatory of Music, has won fourth prize for piano in the Queen Elisabeth of Belgium International Music Competition. The competition, considered one of the top four international piano competitions, alternates between piano and violin to award prizes every four years. Ms. Gorenman, who will become an American citizen next week, began studying the piano at age 7. She continued her studies at the Conservatory of St. Petersburg and the Conservatory of Music in San Francisco. Presently, she studies under pianist Leon Fleisher and has been invited to perform in chamber ensembles at the Tanglewood Festival.

'Lion' to help hospital

A fund-raising performance for the Anne Arundel Medical Center's Breast Cancer Special Purpose Fund marks the opening of the Pasadena Theatre Company's summer production,"The Lion in Winter." The July 7 performance will be at Baldwin Hall in Millersville. Tickets are $15 and can be reserved by contacting the theater company at (410) 923-7687.

Winning voices

The Heart of Maryland Chorus from Catonsville placed first in a competition with 12 other male barbershop choruses held in Reston, Va., May 27. The chorus edged out another Catonsville group, the Chorus of the Chesapeake, whose 75 members sang under the direction of Fred King and associate director Jim Kraus.


* The Chesapeake Music Hall will hold auditions for "Gigi" June 24 at 2:30 p.m. and June 26 at 7 p.m. Auditioners should be prepared to sing and dance. Chesapeake Hall is located at 339 Busch's Frontage Road near the Bay Bridge. Call (410) 626-7515 Annapolis or (410) 974-1822 in Baltimore.

* Theatre Therese will hold auditions for its production of Meredith Willson's "The Music Man" June 25-26 at 7 p.m. at the Shrine of the Little Flower School, 2800 Brendan Ave. Auditioners should prepare a song from the show or any other Broadway musical. Readings will be provided. Be prepared to dance. All roles are open. Call (410) 483-2055.

Writing awards

The Carroll County Arts Council has presented Creative Writing and Visual Arts Awards to graduating high school seniors. The awards were based on interest in either creative writing or visual arts, the students' contribution to the school and community and their potential for success in each discipline.

Creative Writing winners were Matthew Walter, Kelly Catherine Carter, Courtney Dawn Risch and Michael Brandon Puskar. Visual Arts winners were Roxanne Paull, Amanda Zeman, Janet Owens, Andy Gilmore, Jason Adam Shulman.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad