MIAA plans two changes for lacrosse


Lacrosse coaches in the Maryland Interscholastic Athletic Association's A and B conferences have agreed to two changes -- the league's games being governed by NCAA rules and an increase from 10 to 12 minutes per quarter.

But the second change has met a "stumbling block," which MIAA director Ricky Diggs hopes to overcome before the next athletic directors' meeting on Sept. 20.

"The time change means an extra eight minutes per game, and that means an increase in pay for the game officials," said Diggs.

"An agreement was tentatively reached with the officials prior to the vote to increase the minutes. It was two days after the meeting that a problem in funding the officials arose.

"The coaches have wanted the change for a number of years now, so I don't see it as insurmountable. But we just have to make sure that all the athletic directors and principals agree that their schools can afford it."

The MIAA is widely viewed as one of the nation's best high school lacrosse leagues, with many of its graduates filling the Division I ranks.

"Going from 10 to 12 minutes," Diggs said, "would decrease the time disparity of the 15-minute college quarters."

Schwoy an Olympian?

McDonogh's Laurie Schwoy, The Baltimore Sun's All-Metro Girls Soccer Player of the Year, leaves on July 18 for Mile High Stadium to begin training for the July 22-27 Olympic Festival in Denver.

Schwoy, a member of the Olympic development under-20 national team, will compete as a member of the East Regional Team.

"They already have the members of the Olympic team for 1996, but I'm sure they're trying to fill the last couple of spots," said Schwoy, who became a member of the under-16 Olympic development national team as a sophomore. "To make the Olympics would be the ultimate. But for now, I'll just get my foot in the door."

Schwoy, 17, has 146 career goals and 58 career assists as a striker for two-time Catholic League champion McDonogh. With Schwoy in the lineup, the Eagles are 57-3-3, including a 40-0-2 unbeaten streak dating to 1992, have been ranked as high as No. 3 nationally over the last two seasons, and have been the area's No. 1 team for two seasons.

Schwoy, a high school All-American the past two years and the two-time Catholic League Player of the Year, scored all three goals in the Eagles' 3-0 title-game victory over St. Mary's last season.

Bair goes West

Calvert Hall pitcher Andy Bair, The Baltimore Sun's two-time All-Metro Baseball Player of the Year, was among three Marylanders named to the National Amateur Baseball Federation's All-Star Team for the National Amateur All-Star Tournament.

The squad, which also includes North County pitcher Mike Wooden and Old Mill outfielder Joe Barnes, left today for Pine Bluff, Ark., to compete in a weeklong series of games against other major amateur baseball affiliations.

On Tuesday, the NABF plays the Pony All-Stars, followed by Wednesday's game against Pine Bluff, Thursday's game against the Dixie All-Stars and Friday's game against the Babe Ruth All-Stars.

The title game of the third annual event, scheduled to be played on Saturday, will be televised next Sunday at noon on ESPN, and again on Tuesday at 1 p.m.

Stars shine second

The under-15 Soccer Club of Baltimore Stars yielded their State Cup title to the Pasadena Top Guns, 2-1, in an overtime shootout two weeks ago at Carroll Community College.

The loss evened the title-game series between the teams at 3, with the Stars, coached by Anthony Adams and Frank Scarfield, having won in the even years (1990, '92 and '94), and the Top Guns -- who tied the game at 1 with 10 minutes left in regulation -- having taken it in the odd years.

Joppa resident Brian Powell scored the game's first goal 20 minutes in for the Stars, whose Olympic development players are Perry Hall-bound striker Joe Capone and goalie Kyle Zimmer, Hereford-bound striker Mike Duley, and Calvert Hall-bound defenders Tim Gober, Mike Schaeffer, Brandon Thomson, midfielder Matt Joseph and striker P.J. Wakefield.

Juniors Cam Letke and Mike Jenkins of Calvert Hall, Adam Huber (John Carroll) and Billy Nelson (Bel Air) are the team's oldest players. Others players include Frank Scarfield (Calvert Hall), Steve Beverage (Gilman), Chris Patrick (Loyola) and Tim Betz (Westminster).

Local members of the Top Guns are Matt Walters, Jason Muffoletto and Matt Perzinski of Curley, Jonathan Cole and Ben Salisbury of McDonogh and David Dochter of John Carroll.

Before the title game, the Stars had outscored their four opponents, 14-1, with three shutouts.

The Stars geared up for the showdown with a spring season of under-16 ball, garnering five shutouts in six games, outscoring the opposition, 30-1, and losing 1-0 to Grey Charles.

Following that was the Springfield, Va., Memorial Day Tournament, where the stars hammered three Virginia teams and two from Pennsylvania by a combined 17-0, including a 1-0 title-game victory over the Springfield Fire.

Landeta back at Byrd

Towson State graduate Sean Landeta will be honorary chairman at the University of Maryland's Byrd Stadium for the third annual Chesapeake Football Classic on Saturday at 7 p.m.

Landeta played for the New York Giants and Los Angeles Rams, as well as the now-defunct USFL's Baltimore Stars.

The game annually pits Maryland's best 35 high school seniors against Northern Virginia's. Maryland evened the series at 1 with last year's victory at Memorial Stadium.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad