GBC celebrates 40 years of guiding region


More than 900 members of Baltimore's business community turned out last night at the Stouffer Renaissance Harborplace Hotel to dine, schmooze and celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Greater Baltimore Committee, a force in shaping the region's economic future.

It was also an affair to tout the nonprofit business association's accomplishments and to exhort its members to do better.

"The GBC cannot do it alone," said Chairman William L. Jews, president and chief executive of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Maryland. "Government cannot do it alone. The ongoing partnership between the business community, the mayor, the county executives and the county commissioners, and as well as with Gov. [Parris N.] Glendening, will be key to Baltimore, the region and the state of Maryland."

The business at hand last night for the association of 600 member companies was to formally elect its board of directors.

A slate of eight officers was re-elected: Mr. Jews, chairman; Frank P. Bramble, president and CEO of First National Bank of Maryland, vice chairman; Barbara Plantholt Melera, president and CEO of Triad Investors Corp., secretary; George J. Collins, president and CEO of T. Rowe Price Associates Inc., treasurer; Carl W. Stearn, chairman and CEO of Provident Bank of Maryland, president of economic development; Mark K. Joseph, president of the Shelter Group, president of public policy; Joseph Haskins Jr., president and CEO of Harbor Bank of Maryland, president of member services; and Decatur H. Miller, former chairman of Piper & Marbury, immediate past chairman.

The GBC also ratified the election of five new board members: H. Eugene Blattman, president and CEO of McCormick & Co. Inc; Edward S. Civera, managing partner of Coopers & Lybrand LLP; Mary Junck, publisher and CEO of The Baltimore Sun; Beth J. Kaplan, vice president of cosmetics and fragrance products for Procter & Gamble; and Morton I. Rapoport, president and CEO of the University of Maryland Medical System.

Five board members were re-elected to two-year terms: James A. Block, president and CEO of Johns Hopkins Health System; Willard Hackerman, president of Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Raymond A. Mason, chairman of Legg Mason Inc.; Christian H. Poindexter, chairman of Baltimore Gas and Electric Co.; and Sina M. Reid, president of SMR Ltd.

Mayor Kurt L. Schmoke and Del. Howard P. Rawlings used the occasion to announce plans to improve job opportunities in the hospitality and tourism industry.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad