Committee selects 10 finalists for Harford Teacher of Year


A nominating committee of former educators, students and citizens has selected the 10 finalists for the Harford County Teacher of the Year Award.

The winner will be announced at a banquet Thursday.

County businesses have come together to honor the finalists and the winner.

The Bayou Restaurant in Havre de Grace is sponsoring the banquet for the finalists, guests and officials.

This year's winner will receive the free use of a new Buick for one year from Boyle Buick of Abingdon, along with a clock, a watch and other gifts.

This is the first year such prizes have been offered along with the honor.

The 10 finalists are:

* Jaquie Leach, a nine-year first grade teacher at Ring Factory Elementary School.

* Karen Cifranick, a 17-year environmental science teacher at Joppatowne High School.

* Sharon Grose, a 19-year English teacher at Fallston High School.

* J. Patrick Whitehurst, a 14-year social studies teacher at Bel Air High School.

* James Pickard, a 31-year social studies teacher at Bel Air High School.

* Richard Jones, a 23-year German teacher at Fallston High School.

* Loretta "Joy" Richardson, a 27-year kindergarten teacher at Hillsdale Elementary School.

* Barbara Barmer, a 19-year-language arts teacher at Magnolia Middle School.

* Virginia Huller, a 24-year language arts teacher at North Harford Middle School.

* William Carpenter, a 21-year science teacher at Southampton Middle School.

The county Teacher of the Year will enter the state competition. The winner of that competition is announced in the fall.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad