UM bestows honor on 13 faculty members


The University of Maryland College Park has bestowed its highest academic award, the title of distinguished university professor, on 13 of the school's faculty members.

The distinguished university professors are Ivo Babuska, mathematics; Stephen Brush, history; Guillermo Calvo, economics; Sankar Das Sarma, physics; David C. Driskell, art; Bruce L. Gardner and Richard E. Just, agricultural and resource economics; Ted Robert Gurr, government and politics; Edward Ott, electrical engineering and physics; Jose E. Pacheco, Spanish and Portuguese; Azriel Rosenfeld, center for automation research; John D. Weeks, chemistry and biochemistry; and James A. Yorke, mathematics. "The award recognizes the extraordinary scholarly contributions that faculty members have made to their disciplines and to the university," UM President William E. Kirwan said.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad