Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Sykesville Town Council to take nominations for 3 seats, mayor


The Sykesville Town Council will take nominations for the mayor and three council seats at its 7 p.m. session tomorrow.

All four incumbents have said they will accept if they are nominated.

They might run unopposed. Mayor Jonathan S. Herman said he has not heard of any other residents interested in running in the May 2 election. Tomorrow is the deadline for nominations.

"I guess we will just have to wait and see if anyone else comes forward," Mr. Herman said.

Mr. Herman, elected to the council four years ago, has served as chairman of the town Planning Commission.

He was appointed to the mayor's job in October, when then-Mayor Kenneth Clark resigned to take a job out of state. Mr. Clark's term would have ended in 1997, but the town charter requires Mr. Herman to run for the rest of the term.

"This election could be interesting," Mr. Herman said. "I hope the voters aren't too hard on us."

William R. Hall Jr., who has chaired the town Parks and Recreation Department, is seeking a second four-year council term.

For Michael H. Burgoyne and E. Michael Kasnia, the election will be a first. Both were appointed.

Mr. Kasnia replaced Walter White last spring. Mr. Burgoyne took over Mr. Herman's seat when he became mayor.

Nominees must be registered voters who have lived in the town for at least a year.

Information: 795-8959.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad