Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Old Mill regains hold on state title


When Northern-Calvert dethroned five-time champ Old Mill last year, it broke the Baltimore area's nine-year long stranglehold on the 3A-4A state crown.

But yesterday at Western Maryland College, the fourth-ranked Patriots pulled a reversal and pinned down their sixth crown, 90.5-64, over LaPlata.

Sixth-ranked Paul Hultgren (130, 29-4) and Mike DiLeonardi (145, 30-6) won titles, Mike Hines (152, 34-7) and No. 2-ranked Don Patterson (189, 32-2) were second, and Eric Donoway (171) was fourth for Old Mill.

Hultgren, a senior who suffered rib injuries in a near career-ending car accident as a freshman, came off an 11-2 semifinal win over Parkville's Paul Kretchmer before grinding out a 1-0 victory over Dulaney's third-ranked Alex Leanos, a state runner-up for the second straight year.

"It's a great team win after losing last year. The fact that my brother was a state champ really motivated me," said Hultgren, whose older brother, Todd, was a 152-pound state champ two years ago.

DiLeonardi (145, 30-6), avenged a loss of a year ago, 3-1, in the semifinals over Howard's sixth-ranked Eric Paskin, who finished third in the state for the second straight year. He then scored an overtime takedown to get his fourth win of the year, 8-6, over Arundel's Isaac Haertel (29-5).

Patterson pinned Antoine McCoy (34-4) in his semifinal, before losing, 5-3, to Centennial's sixth-ranked Joon Kim (32-1).

Kim was impressive in reaching the final with a first-round default, a technical fall and by scoring six near-fall points in an 11-4 semifinal trouncing of Churchill's fifth-ranked fifth-ranked Dhani Jones (28-2).

Haertel, a sophomore county and regional runner-up to DiLeonardi, reached the semifinal after handing Frederick's John Harper (30-1) his first loss, 13-6, and overcoming a 6-1 deficit to beat Perry Hall's Rich Hanzevack, 8-6, in overtime. He trailed Hanzevack with 10 seconds left when his five-point takedown forced overtime.

Arundel's third-ranked Mark Chesla (152, 32-2) won his second crown, 7-5, in overtime over Old Mill's Mike Hines in a rematch of their regional final, won by Chesla.

Hines, who missed most of last year with a back injury, downed South Carroll's sixth-ranked Charlie Conoway, 10-2, in the semifinal. Chesla survived a rematch of last year's state semifinal, 8-7, over Woodlawn's Mykol Thomas, whom he beat, 5-4, last year.

South Carroll's No. 2-ranked Mike Chenoweth (160, 31-1) won his second straight title impressively despite having to lose five pounds Friday night.

His 12-6 semifinal win came over Magruder's third-ranked Brian Dyer (29-2), last year's 152-pound state runner-up, and his 11-1 title bout victory came over LaPlata's fifth-ranked John Panhurst (33-2).

Meade's fourth-ranked Adam Butts (171, 30-2), a state runner-up last year, pinned his first three opponents and crushed Suitland's Dan Ropel (20-2) by 15-4 to become his school's first state champ.

Arundel's Phil Scheifer (112, 21-3) upset Northern's sixth-ranked region champ Eric Miller, 5-2, in the quarterfinals, Quince Orchard's Rod Garcia, 4-2, in an overtime semifinal, and handled LaPlata's Dan Wilkinson, 4-1, for the title.

Franklin's Sean Groszkowski (135) rebounded from a disappointing fourth-place effort in last week's regionals to pin LaPlata's regional champ Billy Moffet in the first round, score a technical fall in the quarters, and bounce Frederick's Shane Hildebrand, 6-2, in the semifinal, and blow out Churchill's Blake Zimmet (29-4) by 10-2 in the finals.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad