Title sites depend on competitors


The Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association likely will not determine where state football championships will be played until at least Sunday, said Ned Sparks, executive secretary of the state association.

Sparks said because of construction at the University of Maryland's Byrd Stadium, the site of the state football championships for the past 12 years, the MPSSAA likely will play the title games at neutral sites close to the competing schools.

"At Byrd Stadium, there were just too many obstacles we'd have had to overcome to make it the enjoyable experience it has been in the past," said Sparks. "As teams are eliminated, we'll have a better idea about where we can play."

It is only the second time since the games began being played at Maryland in 1982 that renovations have forced the MPSSAA to use high school sites. The first time was in 1990.

County against city

The 13th annual Greater Baltimore Football Classic All-Star Game, featuring players from Baltimore City and County, will be played at 12:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 4, at Johns Hopkins University's Homewood Field.

Unlike in previous years, when the Maryland Scholastic Association played against Baltimore County's All-Stars, this year's format pits private, parochial and public schools in the county against those in the city.

The county team will be coached by Jeff Mann (Dulaney), and the city team will be coached by Mike Working (Mount St. Joseph).

Conflict of interest?

With the county-city all-star football game being played on Dec. 4 -- one day after the state finals -- should Patterson, Poly, Dunbar, Franklin or Randallstown make the state title games, their selected all-star players will have to pull double duty if they want to play in the county-city all-star game.

A state association rule does not allow athletes to play more than one high school football game a week, but it does not apply once the state finals -- and the official high school season -- is over.

Divided loyalties?

When top-ranked Patterson takes the football field against High Point in Saturday's 4A state playoffs, the Clippers will face coach Roger Wrenn's alma mater. Wrenn, a 1965 graduate of High Point, captained a team that lost just two games.

Rules on early signings

The seven-day early signing period for all but fall sports began on Nov. 9 and ended yesterday. Eligible athletes who did not sign then (excluding fall athletes) cannot commit until April, and athletes in fall sports cannot sign until their seven-day early period begins Feb. 8.

Signing a letter of intent means the athlete is bound to that school for a year in exchange for a scholarship. If a student transfers, he must sit out for a year.

Springer signs

Konata Springer, a 6-foot-9 center from Towson Catholic, has signed a letter of intent with Manhattan University.

Springer averaged 13.9 points and 7.9 rebounds in his junior year last season. Springer has satisfied requirements for freshman eligibility, coach Mike Daniels said.

Chuasiriporn signs

Jenny Chuasiriporn, 17, a senior at Notre Dame Prep, has signed a letter of intent to attend Duke University on a full scholarship.

Recently named an American Junior Golf Association First-Team Rolex All-American for the second straight year, Chuasiriporn maintains a zero handicap and has won three AJGA tournaments in 1994 and has been among the top five in four others.

Loyola-Calvert Hall

Tickets for the 75th annual Loyola-Calvert Hall football game, to be played at 10 a.m. Thanksgiving Day at Memorial Stadium, are available at both schools for $4 in advance. They will be $5 at the gate.

Tickets also are available for $25 for Friday's 6 p.m. game banquet at Martin's Eudowood in Towson.

Like father, like son

Bill Waibel, son of Poly coach Augie Waibel, recently coached Joppatowne's junior varsity football team to an undefeated season.


The Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association's reclassification committee met on Nov. 3 and determined new regional alignments, based on Sept. 30 enrollment figures, for the 1995-1997 period.The committee, .

which meets to reclassify schools every two years, still must have the following alignments approved in the Dec. 10 Board of Control meeting.Here are the proposed alignments:

4A NORTH: Lake Clifton, Patterson, Southwestern, Western, Southern-B, Northern-B, Mervo, Douglass-B, Walbrook, Perry Hall, Dulaney and Northwestern-B.

4A WEST: Westminster, Quince Orchard, Springbrook, Gaithersburg, Watkins Mill, Sherwood, Seneca Valley, Wootton, Whitman, Paint Branch, Blair.

4A EAST: Arundel, Chesapeake-AA, North County, Annapolis, Severna Park, Meade, Glen Burnie, Old Mill, Northern-Calvert, Calvert, Queen Anne's.

4A SOUTH: Eleanor Roosevelt, Suitland, High Point, Largo, Northwestern-PG, Bowie, Oxon Hill, Laurel, Parkdale.

3A NORTH: Bel Air, C. Milton Wright, Fallston, Woodlawn, Kenwood, Parkville, Eastern Technical, Dundalk, Randallstown, Franklin.

3A WEST: Frederick, Thomas Johnson, South Carroll, North Carroll, Liberty, Einstein, Kennedy, Damascus, Walter Johnson, Magruder, Richard Montgomery, Churchill.

3A EAST: J.M. Bennett, Broadneck, Howard, Atholton, Centennial, Mount Hebron, Edmondson, Carver, Dunbar.

3A SOUTH: Leonardtown, Chopticon, McDonough, Thomas Stone, La Plata, Westlake, Crossland, Bladensburg, Gwynn Park, Douglass-PG, Duval, Friendly.

2A NORTH: North East, North Harford, Aberdeen, Catonsville, Overlea, Patapsco, Milford Mill, Lansdowne, Pikesville, Owings Mills, Loch Raven, Towson.

2A WEST: Fort Hill, Allegany, North Hagerstown, South Hagerstown, Middletown, Walkersville, Linganore, Wheaton, Rockville, Bethesda-Chevy Chase.

2A EAST: Southern-AA, South River, Northeast, City, Poly, Forest Park, North Caroline, Wicomico, Parkside, Stephen Decatur.

2A SOUTH: Wilde Lake, Oakland Mills, Glenelg, Hammond, Potomac, Central, Fairmont Heights, Surrattsville, Forestville, Lackey, Great Mills.

1A NORTH: Hickey, Harford Tech, Edgewood, Joppatowne, Havre de Grace, Chesapeake-BC, Sparrows Point, Bohemia Manor, Perryville, Rising Sun, Elkton.

1A WEST: Southern-Garrett, Northern-Garrett, Oldtown, Flintstone, Mount Savage, Westmar, Beall, Hancock, Clear Spring, Williamsport.

1A EAST: Kent, Easton, St. Michael's, Colonel Richardson, Cambridge, North Dorchester, Mardela, Crisfield, Washington, Pocomoke, Snow Hill.

1A SOUTH: Boonsboro, Smithsburg, Catoctin, Urbana, Victor Cullen, Brunswick, Francis Scott Key, Poolesville, Western Tech, @Carver A&T;, Hereford.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad