BaseballFree agency -- P Steve Farr, P...



Free agency -- P Steve Farr, P Jose DeLeon, P Kirk McCaskill, P Bill Gullickson, P Dennis Eckersley, P Rick Honeycutt, P Dan Plesac, P Pete Smith, P Zane Smith, C Bob Melvin, IF Rene Gonzales, C Tony Pena, SS Alan Trammell, IF/OF Juan Samuel, SS Dick Schofield, OF Rafael Belliard, OF Kevin Mitchell, OF Kevin McReynolds, OF Lloyd McClendon and C Lance Parrish filed.

Player Relations Committee -- Rejected free-agency bids of Indians SS Alvaro Espinoza and Yankees SS Randy Velarde.

Sporting News -- Named Astros 1B Jeff Bagwell Player of the Year, Yankees' Buck Showalter American League Manager of the Year, Expos' Felipe Alou National League Manager of the Year and Indians GM John Hart Executive of the Year.

Chicago Cubs -- Announced that Eddie Lyons, major league advance scout, and Marv Foley, bullpen coach, will not be offered contracts for 1995.

Montreal Expos -- Agreed to terms with Joe Kerrigan, pitching coach, on a two-year contract.

New York Mets -- Claimed IF Bill Spiers off waivers from the Brewers.

St. Louis Cardinals -- Announced they will not renew the contracts of Joe Coleman, pitching coach, and Bucky Dent, third base coach. Named Bob Gibson bullpen coach and assistant to manager Joe Torre, Mark Riggins pitching coach and Gaylen Pitts third base coach.

Texas Rangers -- Announced they will not renew the contracts of Mickey Hatcher, first base coach, Jackie Moore, dugout coach, Dave Oliver, third base coach, and Claude Osteen, pitching coach. Announced that Perry Hill, defense coach and Willie Upshaw, batting coach, will be reassigned.


Naismith College Basketball Player of the Year Award -- Named men's and women's preseason candidates. Men: Corliss Williamson, Arkansas; Rasheed Wallace, North Carolina; Cherokee Parks, Duke; Damon Stoudamire, Arizona; Michael Finley, Wisconsin; Randolph Childress, Wake Forest; Alan Henderson, Indiana; Shawn Respert, Michigan State; Ed O'Bannon, UCLA; Bryant Reeves, Oklahoma State. Women: Niesa Johnson, Alabama; Dana Johnson (Western), Tennessee; Leslie Johnson, Purdue; Anita Kaplan, Stanford; Nikki McCray, Tennessee; Charlotte Smith, North Carolina; Katie Smith, Ohio State; Rebecca Lobo, Connecticut; Wendy Palmer, Virginia; Sheeley Sheetz, Colorado.

California -- Signed men's basketball coach Todd Bozeman to a contract extension through 1998-99.


Chicago Bears -- Placed RB Tim Worley on the non-football injury list. Signed WR/KR Kenny Shedd.

Cincinnati Bengals -- Signed QB Erik Wilhelm and QB Todd Philcox.


New Jersey Devils -- Announced the retirement of Max McNab, executive vice president.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad