Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five

Scott starts last, finishes first in Bacardi


With nearly 90 entries signed up for the Severn River Yacht Club's annual Bacardi Cup race last Saturday, the top three finishers had to do it the hard way, by working through the fleet after starting last.

That's because the event uses a pursuit start format in which the handicap allowance is taken out first, with the slowest boats starting first, instead of subtracted from the finish time. Whoever crosses the finish line first wins.

The course is determined the day before, so its length is known. nTC Then, at the mandatory skippers' meeting the evening before the race, start times are assigned based on the number of seconds per mile each boat has as a handicap allowance, multiplied by the length of the course.

Jim Scott and his crew on his Oyster 39 Uptown Girl, scratch boat in the fleet with the latest starting time, Larry Kumins and Anne Holt and their team on their J/35 Sugar Magnolia and Tim Bowen and his crew on his J/35 Cheers, rated just six seconds a mile slower (and with the second-to-last start time), with the first three finishers.

Bacardi Cup

1. Uptown Girl, Jim Scott, Annapolis; 2. Sugar Magnolia, Larry Kumins/Anne Holt Syndicate, Annapolis; 3. Cheers, Tim Bowen, Bowie; 4. Stingray, Rene Valliant-Muller, Annapolis; 5. Puffin, Rob Mairs, Edgewater; 6. Lee Wind, Harold Wilson, SRYC; 7. Matinee, Michael Higgins, Annapolis; 8. Mischief, Bruce Bingman/Taran Teague Syndicate, Arlington, Va.; 9. Dilemma, Jack Keniley, Annapolis; 10. Kinvarra, Dan Kral, Severna Park;

11. Celeritas, Gilbert Renaut, Annapolis; 12. Overdraft, David Hoyt, Glen Burnie; 13. Accomplice, Charles & Lee Coyer, Annapolis; 14. Spice, Ray Taylor, Annapolis; 15. Bear Boat, Bonnie Schloss, Silver Spring; 16. Four Little Ducks, Tom Walsh; 17. Eclipse, John Anderschat, SRSA; 18. Anyway, M. J. Lewandowski, USSA; 19. Sea Deuce, Eleanor Holmes, Great Falls, Va.; 20. Warp Speed, Neil Murphy, Falls Church, Va.

Harbor Race/Race Back

Last weekend was a busy one for sailors in CBYRA's Region 2, north of the Bay Bridge. On Saturday, the Magothy River Sailing Association held its 18th Annual Race to Baltimore, followed on Sunday by the Rock Creek Racing Association's reciprocal Baltimore Harbor Regatta.

Trophies were awarded Saturday night at the regatta party at Pier Five Restaurant, but results for the MRSA Baltimore race were not available.

In Sunday's Rock Creek event, however, in which there were 19 starters in five classes, results are available.

RCRA Baltimore Harbor Regatta

PHRF A (6 starters): 1. Zephyr 2, David Shaeffer, [hometown unavailable], 2:46:18 c.t.; 2. Rude Awakening, Chuck O'Malley, Annapolis, 2:47:30 c.t.; 3. Albatrossi, David Rossi, 2:52:29 c.t.

PHRF B (5 starters): 1. Airwaves, Dave Wiemer, Baltimore, 2:45:15 c.t.; 2. Blind Luck, John Fowlkes, Annapolis, 2:45:27 c.t.; 3. Ciao, Shep Kaplow, Owings Mills, 3:26:56 c.t.

PHRF C (4 starters): 1. Ramshackle, Sebring/Pastore, Severna Park, 2:47:18 c.t.; 2. Miller's Time, Lewis Miller, Arnold, 2:56:47 c.t.; 3. Boreas, Michael Mullarky, Baltimore, 3:26:53 c.t.

PHRF Nonspinnaker (2 starters, 0 finishers).

Multihull (3 starters): 1. Leading Lady, Michael Beaver, New Cumberland, Pa., 2:57:38 c.t.; 2. The Karis, Michael Ivy, Arlington, Va., 2:59:08 c.t.; 3. Trilogy, David Way, Shady Side, 3:08:50 c.t.

Deadline, Deadline, Deadline

Friday is the entry deadline for the St. Mary's Governor's Cup Race, an annual 70-mile overnight from Annapolis to St. Mary's City beginning Aug. 5. Entries must be postmarked by Friday , and require a special form rather than the standard CBYRA entry form.

For an entry form and instructions, write to Governor's Cup Race Committee, P.O. Box 156, St. Mary's City, Md. 20686. Special entry forms also are available at the CBYRA office, 612 Third Street in Eastport.

Starts will be offered for Alberg 30s, J/30s, IMS, MORC, PHRF A-0, A-1, A-2, B, C, and D, and Multihulls.

For more information, call (301) 863-8181 (days).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad