Sterling resigns from school boardAs the Harford...


Sterling resigns from school board

As the Harford County Board of Education went through its annual shuffle of board members at Monday's meeting, member Anne D. Sterling resigned effective Nov. 1.

Mrs. Sterling, who was appointed to the seven-member board in 1988 and reappointed for a second five-year term in 1993, said her family's impending move to Richmond, Va., prompted her resignation.

The nonpartisan Permanent Nominating Caucus of Harford County, which recommends school board candidates to the governor, will meet Thursday to decide what to do, said David J. Petr, the caucus' chairman.

In other action, Ronald R. Eaton was elected president of the board, succeeding Percy V. Williams, who retired; and Anne H. Ober was named vice president.

Richard W. Daub took the board seat vacated by Dr. Williams, and student representative Erin Fitzgerald of Harford Technical High School replaced Helen Z. Thompson, who graduated from Joppatowne High School last month.

Recreation complex, park receive grants

Harford County will receive $150,000 from the state to develop Gravel Hill Park in Havre de Grace and to make additions to the Churchville Recreation Complex.

The money is part of the $265,000 recently allocated by the state Board of Public Works for local projects in the Department of Natural Resources' Program Open Space.

The $90,000 grant for the Gravel Hill Park project will finance engineering and construction of an entrance road, parking lot, soccer field, baseball diamond and landscaping.

The Churchville Recreation Complex will receive $60,000 for additional parking spaces and storm water management.

County and municipal Program Open Space grants may be requested for up to 100 percent on land purchases and up to 75 percent for the development of recreational facilities.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad