Capital Gazette wins special Pulitzer Prize citation for coverage of newsroom shooting that killed five

Candidate fields grow as 26 file on final day CAMPAIGN 1994


The final days before the deadline were busy for candidates filing to run in this fall's elections. Tuesday, the last day to file, 26 candidates entered races in Harford County.

The last was Democrat J. Robert Hooper, who filed less than an hour before the 9 p.m. deadline. Mr. Hooper, a former District D councilman, will challenge incumbent Republican Barry Glassman for his old seat in the general election Nov. 8.

Fields of candidates grew in other council districts, too. In District B, the most crowded, six Republicans and two Democrats are seeking the County Council seat being vacated by Joanne S. Parrott, a Republican who is running for council president.

In District C, Council Attorney H. Edward Andrews, a Democrat, joined the race for Theresa M. Pierno's seat. Mrs. Pierno, a Democrat, also is running for council president.

Former Sheriff Dominick J. Mele, who lost the job in 1990 to Robert E. Comes, will be back for a rematch. The two Democrats will be joined by George W. Cunningham and Dale Zepp in a four-candidate primary Sept. 13. The winner will face Republican Joseph P. Meadows in the general election.

There were no surprise candidates for the county executive's seat. Democratic incumbent Eileen M. Rehrmann's only challenger is Republican Ronald M. Szczybor.

Two Republican candidates, District E Councilman Robert S. Wagner and State's Attorney Joseph I. Cassilly, will run unopposed in the primary. But the central committees have until July 20 to nominate candidates to run in races in which their parties have no candidates. Democratic Central Committee Chairwoman Ann M. Hughes said Friday that her committee hadn't decided whether to nominate anyone, but "certainly any qualified or viable candidates will be considered."

Most of the last-minute filers were candidates for the parties' central committees. Voters will choose seven Democrats from a field of 16 and 10 Republicans from a field of 20.

The deadline for candidates to withdraw is Friday.

According to the Election Board, these Harford candidates have filed since July 1:

House of Delegates, District 34 -- Democrat: Rosemary Hatem Bonsack, John R. Gaughan, Mary Louise Preis. Republican: Kenneth A. Thompson, Scott Williams.

House of Delegates, District 35A -- Democrat: Joseph V. Lutz.

County Council, District B -- Democrat: Charles L. Brockmeyer Sr. Republican: Robert Ward Church, Nancy Ringgold.

County Council, District C -- Democrat: H. Edward Andrews III.

County Council, District D -- Democrat: Robert Hooper.

Register of Wills -- Democrat: Lou Ann Hewitt. Republican -- Carol MacCubbin.

Sheriff -- Democrat: Dominick J. Mele.

Democratic Central Committee: Patricia E. Birth, Doris Gough Carey, Christopher Cook, G. Edward Fielder, Ann M. Hughes, Mary Ann Lisanti, Phyllis B. Martin, James Reilly, Lawrence A. Richardson Jr., Chad Richard Shrodes, Ina C. Taylor.

Republican Central Committee -- Elizabeth Carpenter, Robert G. Cassilly, Douglas Fincannon, Gary Kappelman, William F. Lang.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad