Don’t miss the Carroll County home show this weekend!



History: Founded as an amateur team in 1873 by members of the Argonaut Rowing Club, the Argonauts originally played a form of rugby. The team has won 12 Grey Cups, including three in a row from 1945 to 1947, but only two since the league formally became the Canadian Football League in 1958. Among the U.S. stars who have played for the Argos are Joe Theismann, Tobin Rote and Cookie Gilchrist.

Ownership: TSN Enterprises, Canada's equivalent of ESPN and a subsidiary of Labatt's Breweries, purchased the team from financially troubled Bruce McNall last spring for $6.5 million. Gordon Craig is president and CEO of the JLL Broadcast Group, which includes TSN. Paul Beeston, CEO for the Toronto Blue Jays, became president of the Argos after the sale.

Star players: RB Mike "Pinball" Clemons, 5 feet 6, was the CFL's Most Outstanding Player in 1990 under then-coach Don Matthews in Toronto with a single-season record of 3,300 combined yards. QB Mike Kerrigan is a nine-year CFL veteran from Northwestern. His prime passing targets will be SB Jeff Fairholm and WR Titus Dixon.

Last year: The Argos went 3-15 and by midseason, head coach Dennis Meyer was demoted and offensive coordinator Mouse Davis fired. Tracy Ham, who signed with Baltimore in the off-season, was a part-time quarterback with the team.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad