Incumbent Matthews stays out of race CARROLL COUNTY ELECTION 1994


In some editions of the Carroll County edition of The Sun yesterday, Westminster Republican Jerry L. Toadvine was left out of a list of candidates in the District 5 delegate race.

The Sun regrets the error

Carroll Del. Richard C. Matthews, who will be 68 this week, did not file yesterday for re-election to the House seat he has held for 27 years, but two fellow Republicans did.

The deadline to file to run in elections later this year was 9 o'clock last night.

Mr. Matthews, a resident of Hampstead, was simply ready to retire, said his colleague Del. Donald B. Elliott, a District 4B Republican.

Mr. Matthews, who represents District 5, could not be reached for comment yesterday. His decision surprised some because he said earlier that he would run again.

The other two Republicans who filed for one of three District 5 delegate seats were Westminster City Councilman Stephen R. Chapin and Manchester resident Joseph M. Getty, a former executive director of the Historical Society of Carroll County

Six other Republicans and four Democrats also are in the race.

Republican W. David Blair, a Manchester resident who is running in the 5th, said that Mr. Matthews' decision changes the race.

This is the second major change in the District 5 delegate race in the past two weeks. On June 24, County Commissioner Julia W. Gouge dropped out to become the running mate of Republican gubernatorial candidate William S. Shepard.

Republican Jerome J. Joyce of Hampstead also dropped out of the race two weeks ago.

Mr. Matthews' seniority and experience will be missed, Mr. Elliott said.

Mr. Matthews, elected to the House in 1967, was chairman of the six-member Carroll County delegation. In that position, he guided county legislation through the General Assembly.

In May, the county lost another senior member of its delegation when Sen. Charles H. Smelser, 74, who represented District 4, announced that he would retire after serving seven terms.

Del. Richard N. Dixon, a Westminster Democrat, will become the senior member of the Carroll delegation if re-elected in District 5. Mr. Dixon, 56, was first elected in 1983.

The county will have a third delegate seat next year as a result of redistricting in 1991. The 5th District no longer will include some of Baltimore County and will not be divided into subdistricts 5A and 5B.

Mr. Getty, 42, is a part-time student at the University of Maryland School of Law in Baltimore and works part time at the Westminster law firm Stoner Preston and Boswell. He plans to finish law school in about two years.

was in class last night and could not be reached for comment.

Mr. Getty resigned as executive director of the historical society in January. He held that post for seven years and continues to work there part time.

He is a former member of the Carroll County Republican Central Committee, the Carroll County Cable TV Advisory Committee and the Charter Board, which studied the idea of replacing the commissioner form of government with a county council elected by district.

Mr. Chapin is in his first City Council term. He resigned as sales manager for Centaur Press, the commercial printing division of Landmark Community Newspapers of Maryland Inc., in November.

Other candidates in the District 5 delegate race are:

* Democrats -- Philip R. Deitchman of Eldersburg; and Eric R. Hirtle and Ellen L. Willis, both of Westminster.

* Republicans -- Joseph H. Mettle of Eldersburg; and Jerry L. Toadvine, Thomas J. Cassella, Nancy R. Stocksdale and Francis X. Walsh, all of Westminster.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad