With deadline approaching, only 2 have filed for county executive race


With the filing deadline two days away for the Sept. 13 'D primary election, the county executive race is shaping up as a two-way contest between Democratic incumbent Eileen M. Rehrmann and Republican challenger Ronald M. Szczybor.

Mrs. Rehrmann, of Bel Air, who has held the top county post since 1990, is seeking her second term. Mr. Szczybor of Abingdon is on the County Council's Budget Advisory Board and was a member of the 1991-1992 Fiscal and Budget Review Committee.

No other candidates have announced an interest in the job, but residents have until 9 p.m. Tuesday to file for local and state elective posts.

"In local elections, traditionally, we get a lot of activity on Tuesday night," said Rita A. Dather, administrator of the Harford County Board of Supervisors of Elections.

Voters have until Aug. 15 to register for the primary election. In the primary, voters can only vote for the party they are affiliated with. Voter registration will reopen Sept. 26 for the general election on Nov. 8.

As of Friday, the unofficial tally of Harford County county voters was 94,263. Of those, 51,025 are Democrats; 35,184 are Republicans; 7,962 are independents; and 92 listed other affiliations.

County residents can register in person at the Election Board office, 18 Office St. in Bel Air, or at the satellite Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration office, Route 24 and MacPhail Road in Bel Air.

The Election Board office is open 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday, and 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Thursday. The MVA election office is open 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. (Both offices are closed tomorrow for the July Fourth holiday.)

Voters also can register by mail by completing a voter registration form. Forms are available at all state and county office buildings, Harford County public library branches and post offices. Residents may call the Board of Elections at (410) 638-3565 to get an application by mail.

Harford residents vote for all six County Council members and for County Council president, even though the council members represent individual districts, A through F. They vote for House and Senate representatives in the legislative districts -- 34, 35A and 6 -- where they live. Because of the 1992 legislative redistricting, a portion of Fallston and Joppa are now in District 6.

According to the most recent list compiled by the Elections Board, candidates who had filed as of Friday, and who will be on the Harford primary election ballot, include:

U.S. Congress, 2nd District -- Democrat: Joseph John Bish Jr., James Edward Deloach Jr., Hunter J. Epperson, Kauko H. Kokkonen, Barbara Osborn Kreamer. Republican: Robert L. Ehrlich Jr., William J. Frank.

State Senate, District 6 -- Democrat: Michael J. Collins, Alexander B. Page Jr. Republican: Alfred E. Clasing Jr., Timothy P. Knepp, Frederick G. Schiesser, Donald J. Stifler.

State Senate, District 34 -- Democrat: Habern W. Freeman Jr. (incumbent). Republican: David R. Craig.

State Senate, District 35A -- Democrat: William H. Amoss (incumbent). Republican: Gwendalynne G. Corkran, Ruth Elizabeth James.

House of Delegates, District 6 -- Democrat: Diane DeCarlo, Jean H. Eyer, Nancy Hubers, E. Farrell Maddox, Michael H. Weir (incumbent). Republican: Nancy Hastings, Kenneth Holt, Bruce A. Laing, L. Keith Roberts, Stephen Xintas.

House of Delegates, District 34 -- Democrat: Sean Patrick Carven, Gunther Hirsch, B. Daniel Riley. Republican: Nancy Jacobs, L. Michael Schaech.

House of Delegates, District 35A -- Democrat: Donald C. Fry (incumbent). Republican: James F. Greenwell, James M. Harkins incumbent).

County Executive: Democrat -- Eileen M. Rehrmann (incumbent).

Republican: Ronald M. Szczybor.

County Council President -- Democrat: Arthur Henry Helton, Theresa M. Pierno. Republican: Joanne S. Parrott.

County Council, District A -- Democrat: Thomas J. Eser III, Habern Dean Freeman. Republican: James D. Haney, Susan B. Heselton (incumbent), John A. Myrick.

County Council, District B -- Democrat: Joyce B. Eaton. Republican: Donald D. Beynon, Veronica L. Chenowith, Victoria Kornick, Bruce Wells.

County Council, District C -- Democrat: John F. Haggerty. Republican: Mark S. Decker, Christopher O'Shea.

County Council, District D -- Democrat: No candidate filed. Republican: Barry Glassman (incumbent).

County Council, District E -- Democrat: No candidate filed. Republican: Robert S. Wagner (incumbent).

County Council, District F -- Democrat: Philip J. Barker (incumbent). Republican: Mitchell Shank.

State's Attorney -- Democrat: No candidate filed. Republican: Joseph I. Cassilly (incumbent).

Clerk of Circuit Court -- Democrat: Charles G. Hiob III (incumbent). Republican: F. Stewart Elliott.

Register of Wills -- Democrat: Harry L. W. Hopkins (incumbent). Republican: No candidate filed.

Sheriff -- Democrat: Robert E. Comes, George W. Cunningham, Dale Zepp. Republican: Joseph P. Meadows.

Democratic Central Committee: Clara Webster Hopkins (incumbent), William E. Miller, Richard Post, Eric Roper, Bonner Smith.

Republican Central Committee: Glenn A. Brown (incumbent), Asa David Coulson, Sheryl L. Davis, Katherine Hoernig (incumbent), Terry Michael Iman Jr., Steven J. Kelly, Karen I. Meseke, Linda J. Mochinal, Lois E. Nagle (incumbent), Christopher W. Pate, Joseph N. Price (incumbent), Fulton Stone Jr., Merrie Street-Yosua, Josef F. Thurston, Aaron N. Tomarchio.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad