Coach says Severn to become A team

Severn School's second-year boys basketball coach Wayne Fowler says his Admirals will play in Baltimore's A Conference next season.

The 10th-ranked Admirals (23-3) won the Independent Schools tournament and have gone 48-5 in the past two seasons while playing in the Maryland Scholastic Association B Conference. The overall record is tops among all Maryland Independent schools.


While the MSA has disbanded, the A, B and C conference tags are expected to be retained.

Severn moves up with McDonogh and Gilman from B to A, joining Cardinal Gibbons, Calvert Hall, Loyola, Mount St. Joseph and Towson Catholic.


"It gives us credibility and I think our program has progressed in the last two seasons to the point where we can compete with those teams in the A Conference," said Fowler.

"I hope the state [Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association] goes to the open tournament with everybody getting in and doing away with the points system. Then, some of the larger 4A schools will want to schedule us."

Severn, as a small private school, is classified as a 1A school, which under the current system means only five points for a victory as opposed to eight points for a 4A school. The points qualify teams for postseason play.

McDonogh nipped Severn in the final of the B Conference tournament, but the Admirals bounced back to top the Eagles in the Independent Schools tournament.

Severn had only three seniors on its team and returns three key juniors in Alhamisi Simms, John Vereen and Jaylonnie Booth. Also, 6-foot-7 Andrew Watts, who will be a junior this fall, has a lot of potential.

A big help to a rival

Despite the rivalry between county coaches and teams, and there was a good one between Annapolis and Glen Burnie this season, it's neat that they stick together when it comes to representing Anne Arundel County.

Glen Burnie boys basketball coach Terry Bogle, who led his fifth-ranked Gophers into the 4A state final four in College Park yesterday, said that Annapolis coach John Brady was a lot of help to him.


While Bogle's Gophers were upsetting Brady's Panthers, 89-80, in the East Region final Saturday, Annapolis assistant Bruce Brown was scouting Springbrook of Montgomery County.

The Blue Devils edged Gaithersburg, 55-54, in the West final with Brown taking a pile of notes. Brady turned over the scouting report to Bogle, who says it was a big help to his club's preparation.

"John has been a lot of help, and I even asked him to sit on our bench at the game," said Bogle. "He declined."

Brady didn't mind giving a helping hand, but he still prefers maroon to red.

Another Bruins record broken

Not only did Broadneck's Jason Smith become the Bruins' all-time leading scorer (1,162 points) this season as a junior, he added the school's all-time record for steals (131).


Until Smith, Kenny Wood (1987-88) held the record for career points (1,047) and Jeff Vincent (1991-92) the old mark for steals (127). And just think, Smith still has one more year at Broadneck.

Meade misses for first time

It kind of went unnoticed, but did you know that coach Butch Young's Meade boys basketball team missed the playoffs for the first time in school history?

Young, the only boys basketball coach the school has had, saw his Mustangs' string of 16 consecutive postseason appearances end. Meade was 11-11 overall, its worst record since 12-11 in 1989-90.

That 12-11 campaign included a loss in the playoff quarterfinals. The addition of Calvert, Northern and Queen Anne's to the East Region prevented the Mustangs from sneaking in this year.

Waves' Gillespie honored


Congratulations to veteran Severna Park junior varsity girls basketball coach Joe Gillespie, who has been named Maryland Amateur Athletic Union Volunteer of the Year for his extensive work with the Waves girls youth program.

"Joe has been with the Waves and Maryland AAU girls program since 1987 and has had much to do with its growth from 54 players to 550 in the state," said Waves assistant Tom Conroy.

Gillespie has been instrumental in 27 members of the Waves receiving Division I scholarships since 1987.