Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

Unheralded South Carroll makes its mark in regional


Despite having its two highest seeded wrestlers as third seeds, South Carroll had more 3A-4A North Region state qualifying wrestlers -- seven -- than any other squad in the 18-team region.

Sixth-ranked county champ Mike Chenoweth (160, 27-1) finished first and Steve Yokay (171, 20-8) finished third -- each being seeded No. 3 in their weight classes.

Charlie Conoway (145) came from the fifth seed to place second, Tim Hinsche (152) emerged from the ninth seed to place third, Dan Mackennie (heavy weight) came from ninth seed to take fourth, Kevin Sakalas (130) came from seventh to place fourth, and Dan Peiffer (119) came from sixth to place fourth.

Qualifying from Westminster were Steve Sheppard (130, third), Jason Hare (171, fourth) and Leo Barnes (152, fourth). Sheppard edged Perry Hall's county champ, Rich Hanzevack, 7-4, in the consolation semifinal, before edging Sakalas, 3-1, in overtime for third place.

South Carroll's Chenoweth scored three first-period falls, including his semifinal fall in 1:26 over Eastern Tech's Baltimore County champ, Rex Marshall, and his title-bout fall in 1:10 over Perry Hall's Joe Farinetti.

Farinetti, pinned for the first time this year, was coming off 171-pound victories over then-No. 3 Pat Macleod (Towson) and then-No. 5 Seth Eldridge (Howard).

Conoway's 3-2 title-bout loss cameagainst Howard High's sixth-ranked Eric Paskin (26-0). Conoway reached the title bout on two pins, one over last year's champ, Brian Yoakum (Perry Hall).


Panthers pound

North Carroll overwhelmed the 15-team field in the 1A-2West Regional at Boonsboro over the weekend, getting titles from fifth-ranked Doug Dell (119, 28-3), Eddie Davis (119, 24-4) and second-ranked Tommy Kiler (135, 30-1).

Also qualifying for North Carroll were fourth-ranked Chris Boog (171, 29-1, second), Saidrick Lewis (152, 29-2, second), Bill Beltz (heavyweight, 25-7, second), Tony Zahn (125, third), Corey Rill (130, 27-5, third) and Jeff Myers (160, third).

Dell won, 5-1, over Northern of Garrett's sixth-ranked Tirrell Burdock (22-3), and Kiler avenged his only loss to Francis Scott ++ Key's top-ranked defending state champ Randy Owings (26-1), with a 5-3 win.

Boog suffered his first loss, 5-4 to Catoctin's second-ranked Shane Tiffany (28-0), and Lewis dropped a 7-1 title-bout decision Smithsburg's second-ranked David Everhart (23-1).

Chris Beale (140, 24-6) and third-ranked Zac Yinger (145, 29-1) each won titles for Francis Scott Key, which was fourth in the field. Francis Scott Key also qualified Ryan Etzler (103, 22-4, second) and Jason Hooper (119, fourth).

Qualifying for Liberty were county champ Joe Smith (103, 21-4, third) Bryan Siefert (112, 17-3, third) and Mike Durgin (160, fourth).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad