Williams to try to regain status as top dog on Jan. 21, 7-bout card

In November, undefeated heavyweight Thomas "Top Dog" Williams apologized to local boxing fans at Michael's Eighth Avenue in Glen Burnie for not giving them a better show and promised to make it up to them.

Thomas (7-0), who is under a multimillion-dollar contract with Bob Arum's Top Rank Boxing and trains in Laurel, had just taken a unanimous decision over 37-year-old Warren "Chico" Thompson (7-10-1) of Baltimore in the main event.


The 1992 Golden Gloves champion gets that chance to make good on Jan. 21 at Michael's when he headlines promoter Josh Hall's seven-bout dinner and boxing card. His opponent will be Terry Wallace (5-2) of Baltimore in a six-rounder.

Initially under the wing of trainer Lou Duva before moving to Arum's camp, Williams is making his third appearance at Michael's, and it's an excellent opportunity for boxing fans to see a heavyweight on the way up.


"Thomas is destined to get a title shot one day. He's got what it takes," said Hall.

Joining Williams on the card are two other promising local boxers.

Middleweight Alfonzo Daniels and light heavyweight Bobby Haarhoff, who both train under Jeff Novotny in Crofton, will put their unbeaten records on the line.

Daniels (5-0) will take on Washington journeyman Ivory Teague (6-9-1) in a scheduled six-rounder, and Haarhoff (3-0) will meet Jessie Brown (1-1-1) of Laurel in a scheduled four-rounder.

Glen Burnie's Jeff Passero, who came out of a 10-year retirement at 34 last fall, is also on the card. Passero (18-7-1) faces a rematch with Washington's Ed Holley (4-3) in a welterweight four-rounder.

Passero took a majority decision over Holley in September at La Fontaine Bleu on a card run by Cliff "The Hammer" McPherson and Bob Ryan of Hammer Promotions.

For information on the Jan. 21 show at Michael's, call (410) 768-7901 or Round Promotions at (410) 760-2699.

Maryland to run and shoot


If you thought 47 passes was something in the inaugural Chesapeake Football Classic last July at the University of Maryland in College Park, you haven't seen anything yet.

Last year in the game for graduated seniors from Maryland and Virginia, Maryland dropped an 18-16 decision despite a 23-for-47, 291-yard passing effort by Jason Boseck of Pallotti.

It's hard to imagine the ball being airborne even more, but North County's run-and-shoot coach, Chuck Markiewicz, has been named offensive coordinator for the state team by coach Mike Calhoun of Fort Hill.

"I'm ecstatic that Mike asked me and has given me free rein with the run-and-shoot," said Markiewicz, who started the one-back passing attack at Meade in 1989 and brought it to North County the next season, going 35-9 the last four years with three straight playoff appearances.

This year's all-star game is set for July 23 in College Park.

Gridders named AP All-State


Congrats to Green and the host of county football players named first- or second-team All-State by the Associated Press' poll of writers.

The top honors went to North County linebacker Troy Fowlkes and his quarterback teammate, Justin Rice; Southern defensive lineman Jason Poknis; St. Mary's kicker Mark Kiefer, and Green.

University of Maryland-bound Fowlkes was named the Consensus Defensive Player of the Year and joined the others on the Consensus All-State Squad.

Anne Arundel countians on the Big School All-State first team were: Fowlkes, Rice, linemen Jarry Avery and Reggie Moore of North County; Annapolis running back Kenny Boyd; Arundel defensive back Jeff Hedrick and Green.

Second-team Big School members included: wide receivers Jason Smith (Broadneck) and Teon Carter (North County); running back Kenny Walker (Meade); offensive lineman Jeff Ogle (Annapolis); defensive lineman Cory Fowler (North County); linebackers Doran Brown (Meade) and Jermond Davenport (Severna Park) and defensive back Rocky Newton (Glen Burnie).

First-team Small School members included: wide receiver Wayne Small (Southern); defensive linemen Poknis and Justin Kiernan (St. Mary's) and kicker Kiefer.


Second-team Small Schools members included: wide receiver Jamar Mullen (Southern); offensive lineman Greg Carobrese (St. Mary's); running back Corey Contee (Southern) and linebacker Scott Singleton (Severn).