Aberdeen makes most of 1 champ in tourney


Aberdeen had only one champion, but it was enough to edge Perry Hall for the title in the weekend's eight-team John Carroll tournament.

The Eagles (165.5 points) sole champ was Chad Guerrera (160, 9-0), an upset 4-1 winner over St. Paul's No. 3 Pete Karvounis in the semifinals before edging Bel Air's Joe Strazzire, 5-3, in the title bout.

Guerrera was a repeat titlist with Overlea's No. 5 John Fields (152, 9-0), an earlier winner of the Pikesville tournament, who downed Aberdeen's Kit Doran, ranked No. 5 at 145. Doran had a semifinal victory over Boys' Latin's Eric Fitez, who was third in last year's MSAs.

Titlists for Perry Hall (148 points) were Nick Sidiropoulos (103, 6-0), Richie Hanzevack (130), Brian Yoakum (145) and Joe Farinetti (171). Sidiropoulos avenged a junior-league loss, 16-5, over Boys' Latin's Brian Berger, and Farinetti downed Harford County champ Mike Grant, 6-4.

Perry Hall's No. 4 Steve Boothe (119) lost 2-1 to Boys' Latin's No. 5 Ashley Harrison (7-0), last year's Maryland Scholastic Association runner-up. Josh Silverman (112) joined Harrison on the victory stand for Boys' Latin.

St. Paul's (132, third) top-ranked MSA champ Steve Truitt (135, 14-0) downed Harford County champ, Frank Johnson (Aberdeen), 9-4, to win the crown for the first time. Truitt was an overtime runner-up the two previous years.

For fourth-place Bel Air (100.5 points), Matt Carlson decisioned St. Paul's Gokul Prabhu, 16-9, and Brian Stewart (140) won 9-2 over Perry Hall's Steve Page. The only other champ for Overlea (87.5, fifth) was heavyweight Mike Knoedler.

John Carroll's No. 5 Greg Stotler (189, 13-1) edged Harford County champ Chris Allen (Aberdeen), 6-5, for his title. Stotler also has won the Maryland Invitational at Curley and was a runner-up at Pikesville.

Topsy-turvy Taghizadeh

Gilman's Maakan Taghizadeh started the week being ranked No. 6 on Monday. He proceeded to lose 4-3 to Southwestern's Dorian Paul on Tuesday, then beat both Paul (6-4, on Friday) and McDonogh's Mickey Moore (11-4, on Saturday) for the McDonogh tournament crown. Paul downed City champ Tony Bridges (Poly), 7-2, for third place.

Gaels' glory

Five of the seven champs for top-ranked Mount St. Joseph in the Chesapeake tournament won their crowns on points scored in the third period.

Eric Schaffer (103) won 1-0 on a third-period escape; Russell Fecteau's (125) five-point takedown turned a 5-2 deficit into a 7-5 lead and an eventual 9-6 win; No. 3 David Inkman (130) won 4-2 on a reversal; No. 3 Tyran Dungee (135) won 4-3 on a buzzer-beating takedown; and No. 1 Paul Scott (140) used an escape with five seconds left to win 5-4.

Quaker Classic

No. 6 Jason Gibson (130) and Nick Hollick (135) went 5-0 at Friends' Quaker Classic to lead Loyola (157 points) to the title in the six-team, round-robin affair.

4( Westminster (124) was the runner-up.

Mavericks triumph

Eastern Tech (160.5 points) was impressive in winning the weekend's 12-team Hereford Invitational, topping a field that included runner-up and No. 10 Owings Mills (151), host Hereford (121.5, third) and Towson (107, fourth), winner of the Pikesville tournament.

The Mavericks got titles from Joe Catlin (119), Brian Nagle (125) and Rex Marshall (160) to edge Owings Mills, whose champs were freshman Steve Kessler (130) and senior Stan Leaser (135), each of whom is 6-0.

Catlin, a regional runner-up last year, upset Franklin's sixth-ranked county champ Sean Groszkowski, 7-3, in the semifinals. Catlin's 14-5 title-bout victory came over Sparrows Point's Gary Maynor, who was coming off a semifinal win over Towson's Pikesville tournament champ Joe Judge. Nagle pinned Hereford's Paul Grasham, a runner-up at Pikesville, in 4:19 of their title bout.

Kessler got his sixth pin in 2:40 over Pikesville runner-up Anthony Radecki (Hereford), and Leaser's 6-5 title win came over Towson's Andy Thompson, who was third at Pikesville. Owings Mill's Victor Saez (140) lost on overtime criteria to Catonsville's Aaron Lovinger.

Hereford's champs were Mike Gorleski (152) and No. 4 Roy Collins.

Titlists for Towson were Ryan Haden (103), Ken Knapp (145) and Pat MaCleod (171). MaCleod was also a Pikesville champ, where Haden was a runner-up.

Loch Raven's No. 6 R. J. Meyer (heavyweight) earned the crown that eluded him as a Pikesville runner-up. Sparrows Point's Mike Young (112) earned a semifinal win over Dundalk's regional champ, Dan Simanceck, before avenging an earlier loss to Owings Mill's Josh Ellin in the title bout.

TOP 15

1. Mt. St. Joseph (1-0) 120

2. Northeast (3-0) 112

3. North Carroll (3-0) 104

4. F. S. Key (3-0) 96

5. Old Mill (3-0) 88

6. Aberdeen (3-0) 68

7. Gilman (3-0) 65

8. Hammond (1-0) 62

9. Arundel (3-0) 57

10. Eastern Tech (1-0) 48

11. Perry Hall (3-0) 45

12. Owings Mills (3-0) 30

13. Broadneck (2-1) 26

14. St. Paul's (4-0) 18

15. Chesapeake-AA (1-1) 14

Other teams receiving votes, with record and points in parentheses: Loyola (1-0, 4), Towson (1-0, 2), South River (2-1, 1)

Poll members: Wavie Gibson, Walbrook, Al Miller, Perry Hall, Jim Currie, Boys' Latin, Tom Slichter, Chesapeake-AA, Bill Smith, Hammond, Bill Hyson, Francis Scott Key, Kenny Bryant, C. Milton Wright, Lem Satterfield, The Baltimore Sun.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad