Gilman finishes third at McDonogh tourney


Hanover (Pa.) made a big impression in its first year at the Ray Oliver Wrestling Tournament yesterday at McDonogh School.

The Hawks walked away with five individual championships, clinched the team title early in the final round and stopped No. 3 North Carroll's streak of nine team championships at the tournament.

Hanover, which put nine wrestlers in the finals, finished with 234.5 points, and North Carroll trailed with 190. No. 6 Gilman finished third with 145.5 points, McDonogh took fourth with 106, and Randallstown finished fifth with 77. Centennial (68), Southwestern (50) and Poly (48) rounded out the field.

Gary Harris (125 pounds) of Randallstown, a 5-0 victor over Joe Henson of Hanover, won the award for Outstanding Wrestler.

North Carroll had an outside shot at Hanover heading into the final round. The Panthers and Hanover met seven times in the final round, and North Carroll needed a sweep plus other help for the victory.

But it was not to be, as Hanover won four of those matches. The Hawks, in fact, clinched the championship with their first title, Jeremy Reck's 12-10 overtime decision over Eddie Davis.

"I was pleased," said North Carroll coach Dick Bauerlein, whose team had eight in the finals. "I thought the kids wrestled real well today."

Gilman coach Chris Legg also liked his team's effort. The Greyhounds won two individual championships and took second twice.

Maakan Taghizadeh (103) won for Gilman, defeating Mickey Moore of McDonogh, 11-4. Greg Plitt (145) also won for the Greyhounds, topping Eric Hott of North Carroll, 4-2.

Mike Kim (160) and Jamie Biddison (189) took second for Gilman. Kim fell to Martius Harding of McDonogh, 3-1, and teammate J. R. Pleinis topped Biddison, 4-2.

"This is a young team," said Legg. "I am very excited to coach them. We're getting better every day."

For McDonogh, Harding used a takedown with 10 seconds left to beat Kim. Pleinis trailed, 1-0, early against Biddison, but rallied for the next four points and the victory.

The main story, though, was Hanover. Reck, Josh Conover (125), Josh Henson (140), Tyke Conover (140) and heavyweight Matt Gass won championships.

The Hawks took first, second or third with 12 of their 13 wrestlers.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad