Salisbury teacher is Maryland's best Bonnie Walston edges 6 others


A Wicomico County educator was named 1993-1994 Maryland Teacher of the Year last night at a ceremony at Martin's West in Woodlawn.

Bonnie L. Walston, a resource teacher at Parkside High School in Salisbury, edged out six other finalists. Ms. Walston also won a $25,000 Milken Family Foundation National Education Award to do with as she pleases.

"I accept the challenge and the commitment . . . as we provide the students with the skills of literacy and lifelong learning," Ms. Walston said as she received the state award.

"We have miles to go and promises to keep for our students in Maryland. It will be a joy for me to be a vehicle to allow them to accomplish those miles and reach those goals."

Gov. William Donald Schaefer, who attended the ceremony, said, "I am delighted to honor Bonnie Walston tonight, because she truly represents the numerous outstanding and dedicated teachers we have throughout Maryland."

State Superintendent Nancy S. Grasmick said, "Because she works a special kind of magic . . . her students have a positive attitude toward learning. Bonnie Walston exemplifies the very finest qualities of an exceptional teacher -- enthusiasm for teaching and learning, dedication to professional growth and the ability to motivate students and engage them in learning."

RTC Ms. Walston is a graduate of Salisbury State University, where she earned a master's degree. She is an emergency medical technician at the Salisbury Fire Department.

As the winner, Ms. Walston becomes the state's nominee for national Teacher of the Year, to be chosen next spring. She also receives a check for $2,000 from the Maryland Business Roundtable Foundation.

This is the fourth year Maryland has participated in the National ,, Teacher of the Year contest, sponsored by the Maryland State Department of Education and the Maryland Business Roundtable Foundation, as well as Westinghouse Electronic Systems Group, Maryland Public Television, WJZ and The Baltimore Sun.

The banquet honored a total of 23 instructors nominated for the top state award. Other finalists were Leon C. Brumback of North Hagerstown High in Washington County, Jane Daugherty of Broadneck Senior High in Anne Arundel, Susan M. Howe of Oakland Mills Middle School in Howard, Douglas McIlvaine of Thomas Stone High in Charles County, Sharon Robertson of Grasonville Elementary in Queen Anne's and Christy W. Scott of Westover Elementary in Somerset.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad