BaseballAmerican League -- Announced that Jim Evans...



American League -- Announced that Jim Evans was selected umpire crew chief for the playoffs. He will work home plate in Game 1 and, if necessary, Game 7. Other umpires will be Ted Hendry, Ken Kaiser, Greg Kosc, John Shulock and Tim Tschida.

National League -- Announced that Bruce Froemming was picked as senior umpire for the playoffs. Other umpires will be Frank Pulli, Terry Tata, Jim Quick, Jerry Crawford and Joe West. Suspended San Diego Padres P Andy Benes five games for hitting the Colorado Rockies' Alex Cole with a pitch on Sept. 22. Benes will not appeal.

Chicago White Sox -- Activated P Chuck Cary from the 15-day DL.

Florida Marlins -- Agreed to terms with 3B Gary Sheffield on a four-year contract. Recalled C Mitch Lyden from Triple-A Edmonton.

New York Mets -- Requested waivers on P Mike Draper for the purpose of giving him his unconditional release.


Hall of Fame -- Named Joe O'Brien, chief operating officer, president.

USAB -- Named Tara Vanderveer, Stanford women's basketball coach, women's basketball coach for the 1994 Goodwill Games.

Chicago Bulls -- Signed F Al Hamilton, F Jerome Lane, G Steve Kerr and C Bill Wennington.

Los Angeles Lakers -- Agreed to terms with F Elden Campbell, a restricted free agent.

Milwaukee Bucks -- Signed free-agent C Dwayne Schintzius to a two-year offer sheet. His prior team, the New Jersey Nets, have until Oct. 13 to respond to the offer sheet and retain his rights.


California, Pa. -- Named Glenn Kyle and Cliff Jackson graduate assistant basketball coaches.

Houston -- Named Gene Smith defensive coordinator and Melvin Robertson secondary coach.

New Paltz State -- Named Charlie Rosen women's basketball coach.

Texas-El Paso -- Declared basketball F Shenita Waddell, F Kathy Mangram and F Laura Walker academically ineligible.

Stevens Tech -- Named Joe Scott and Jack Leahy assistant basketball coaches and Rob Ferullo volunteer assistant basketball coach.


NFL -- Fined Miami Dolphins LB Bryan Cox $10,000 for making obscene gestures to the crowd before a game against the Buffalo Bills on Sunday; Cox said he will appeal. Named following weekly award winners: Miami Dolphins QB Dan Marino, AFC offense; Indianapolis Colts LB Duane Bickett, AFC defense; Pittsburgh Steelers' Rod Woodson, AFC special teams; Los Angeles Rams QB Jim Everett, NFC offense; New Orleans Saints LB Vaughn Johnson, NFC defense; Saints PK Morten Andersen, NFC special teams.

Los Angeles Rams -- Waived WR Ernie Jones. Assigned WR Richard Buchanan and WR Courtney Griffin to the practice squad. Re-signed WR Tony Hargain.

New England Patriots -- Signed LB David Bavaro. Waived LB David White.

Pittsburgh Steelers -- Placed G Carlton Haselrig on the non-football injury list.


Chicago Blackhawks -- Assigned G Roch Belley to CHL Muskegon.

Edmonton Oilers -- Signed G Fred Brathwaite to a multiyear contract.

Pittsburgh Penguins -- Signed C Bryan Trottier (also an assistant coach), RW Doug Brown and LW Jeff Daniels.

St. Louis Blues -- Signed D Phil Housley to a multiyear contract.

San Jose Sharks -- Called up D Mike Colman from IHL Kansas City.

Toronto Maple Leafs -- Sent C Yanic Perreault, LW Chris Govedaris, RW Ken McRae and D Chris Snell to AHL St. John's. Announced that LW Tomas Kucharcik has left the team.

Vancouver Canucks -- Assigned C Neil Eisenhut to AHL Hamilton.


CISL -- Announced the Houston Hotshots, an expansion franchise, will begin play in the 1994 season.

Harrisburg Heat (NPSL) -- Acquired G Jorge Valenzuela from the Canton Invaders for a conditional draft pick.

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad