BaseballMajor League Baseball -- Named John C....


Major League Baseball -- Named John C. Honor executive director, human resources.


Cincinnati Reds -- Placed P Rob Dibble on the 15-day DL.

Kansas City Royals -- Elected David D. Glass chairman. Named Michael E. Herman president.


Montreal Expos -- Announced they will not renew the contract of Mike Quade, manager of Triple-A Ottawa.

Oakland Athletics -- Announced that 1B Troy Neel dropped his appeal and began serving a four-game suspension for his part in a bench-clearing incident against the Milwaukee Brewers on Aug. 24.

Arizona Fall League -- Named Jim Purpura director of league operations and Dave Gottfried operations supervisor.


Los Angeles Lakers -- Signed free-agent F Poncho Hodges and free-agent G Keith Johnson.

Orlando Magic -- Signed free-agent F Larry Krystkowiak.

Philadelphia 76ers -- Agreed to terms with G Greg Graham.

Portland Trail Blazers -- Agreed to terms with G James Robinson, their first-round draft pick.



NCAA -- Named Amy E. Hackett to the women's soccer committee; Ron Guenther, David T. Braine and Kenneth L. Schweitzer to the special events committee; Mari H. Warner and Rita Wiggs to the Division III women's basketball committee; Mark Ekeland to the Div. II baseball committee; and John Mackovic to the professional sports liaison committee.

NCAA Eligibility Committee -- Announced that penalties against Texas A&M; RB Greg Hill and LB Jessie Cox will remain in effect.

Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association -- Suspended Virginia Union's John Jones and Joshua Pledger for tomorrow's football game against Morgan State for taking part in a fight during Saturday's game against Hampton. Issued warnings to Virginia Union's Bobby Phillips and James Cooper and Hampton's Christopher Williams, Christopher Miller, Corey Swinson, Josh Austin, Melvin Crawford and John Meredith.

Bowling Green -- Nine football players, including six starters, were suspended from the team this week and will miss Saturday's game against Navy, the campus newspaper said.

Kent State -- Extended the contract of basketball coach Dave Grube for one year.


Maryland -- Named Heidi McGuigan assistant sports information director.

Navy -- Named Sherri Nowatzki (former head women's basketball coach at Keuka College) assistant women's basketball coach, replacing Gail Beatty, who is now assistant women's coach at Georgetown.

Fairfield -- Signed women's basketball coach Dianne Nolan to a multi-year contract.

Newberry -- Named Greg Lawson men's assistant basketball coach.

Pratt -- Named Darrell Ferguson men's assistant basketball coach.

Rider -- Named Tod E. Kowalczyk men's assistant basketball coach.



Cincinnati Bengals -- Claimed CB Alan Grant off waivers from the San Francisco 49ers. Released DB Mitchell Price.

New England Patriots -- Claimed DT Mario Johnson off waivers from the New York Jets. Released RB Scott Lockwood.


NHL Enterprises -- Named Brian Jennings director, apparel and head-wear licensing, and Bill Tighe national sales manager.

Calgary Flames -- Signed LW Gary Roberts to a multi-year contract.


Montreal Canadiens -- Assigned LW Yves Sarault and D Lindsay Vallis to AHL Fredericton. Sent C Brian Savage on loan to the Canadian Olympic team.

New Jersey Devils -- Assigned G Chad Erickson, G Brian Langlot, G Roberto Romano, G Corey Schwab, D Kevin Dean, D Bryan Helmer, D Cale Hulse, D Geordie Kinnear, D Chris Nelson, D Matt Ruchty, F Ryan Black, F Jeff Christian, F Joe Flanagan, F Yanick Frechette, F Donevan Hextall, F Curt Regnier, F Pascal Rheaume, F Kevin Riehl and F Lyle Wildgoose to AHL Albany. Returned F Steve Brule to the QMJHL St. Jean and F Denis Pederson to the WHL Prince Albert.

Ottawa Senators -- Sent RW Andrew McBain, RW Tomas Jelinek, D Ken Hammond, D Jake Grimes, D Greg Brown, G Mark LaForest and G Daniel Berthiaume to AHL Charlottetown. Released LW Al Secord, F Brad Lauer and D Kevin MacDonald.

Philadelphia Flyers -- Signed G Tommy Soderstrom to a four-year contract.

Pittsburgh Penguins -- Assigned G Olie Sundstrom, D Steve Bancroft, D Mike Dagenaia, D Paul Dyck, D Jamie Heward, D vTC Robert Melanson, D Travis Thiessen, F Paul Beraldo, F Jamie Black, F Grant Block, F Greg Hagen and F Michel St. Jacques to IHL Cleveland. Assigned G Philippe deRouville and G Patrick Lalime to the QMJHL; D Marc Hussey, D Travis Stevenson, F Larry McMorran, F Domenic Pittis, F Stacy Roest and F Sean Selmser to the WHL; and F David Roche to the OJHL.

Quebec Nordiques -- Learned that Swedish star Peter Forsberg, obtained from the Flyers in the Eric Lindros trade last year, will not join the team until spring at the earliest.


Vancouver Canucks -- Assigned G Sergei Tkachenko, G Jason Fitzsimmons, C Stephane Morin, C Libor Polasek, C Dan Kesa, LW Cam Danyluk and RW Brian Loney to AHL Hamilton. Returned Mike Wilson to his junior team, OHL Sudbury.


Harrisburg Heat (NPSL) -- Signed D Bob Lilley, D Scott Henderson and F Doug Miller to one-year contracts.