Annapolitans finish first at Snipe National regatta

A solid combination of ability and experience paid off last month when the Annapolis team of Doug Clark and Alex Stout won the Snipe National Championship regatta.

The regatta was sailed on the waters of Lake Erie over Aug. 18-26 out of the Mentor Harbor Yachting Club near Cleveland.


Clark estimated that with crew Stout's 15 years or more of Snipe racing amplifying his own six years, the team had more than 20 years' experience in Snipes, giving the duo a solid basis for a strong performance.

"Alex's experience definitely paid off," said Clark, adding that Stout had sacrificed competing as skipper of his own boat to aid Clark in the campaign. "I was very fortunate to have someone with his knowledge and expertise."


All of the top three teams in the Heinzerling -- or championship -- fleet qualified for slots at the 1994 Snipe Western Hemisphere Championships in Uruguay in about a year.

Clark and Stout were off to a great start in the nationals with a win in the district championships the previous week, which already had qualified them for the Heinzerling series. But they then went on to win the qualifying series, which split the fleet at the start of the regatta.

Under Snipe class rules, regardless of the size of the overall fleet -- which this year was 53 boats -- the top 32 always are partitioned off for the Heinzerling and championship title.

Other Annapolis Snipe fleet sailors also ranked in the top 10, with Hal Gilreath and Allan Carseadden in sixth, Henry Filter and Nancy Green in seventh, and Bryan Fishback and Lorie Stout in eighth.

1993 Snipe National Championship

Heinzerling (Championship) Fleet: 1. Doug Clark/Alex Stout, Annapolis, 17 (6-3-3-3-2-[10]); 2. Andrew Pimental/Carol Newman, Newport, R.I., 19.5 (1-5-8-[24]-5-1); 3. Craig & Lisa Leweck, San Diego, Calif., 19.75 (2-2-6-1-9-[11]); 4. Peter Commette/Connie Suddath, Fort Lauderdale, Fla., 22 (3-9-5-2-3- [13]); 5. Bart Hackworth/John Rogers, San Francisco, Calif., 29.75 ([17]-4-9-13-1- 3); 6. Hal Gilreath/Allan Carseadden, Arlington, Va., 33 (5-8-[17]-6-7-7); 7. Henry Filter/Nancy Green, Stevensville, 36.75 (12-1-[15]-9-11-4); 8. Bryan Fishback/Lorie Stout, Deale/Annapolis, 46.75 (17-10-1-14-[20]-5); 9. Jerry Thompson/Sherry Eldridge, Alamitos, Calif., 50 ([20]-6-17-19-6PPR-2).

Sailing for others

America's largest charity regatta, Hospice Cup XII, is Saturday, Sept. 18.


More than 100 IMS, MORC and PHRF racers routinely take part in this event, first sailed in 1982 by 57 yachts, which steadily has grown in both participation and fund-raising over the years since its inception.

With race management by Shearwater Sailing Club, the event is a regularly sanctioned CBYRA event and serves as an important fund-raiser for six hospice programs -- Hospice of the Chesapeake, Hospice of Prince George's County, Calvert Hospice, Hospice of Anne Arundel Medical Center, Hospice of ** Northern Virginia and Montgomery Hospice Society.

Hospices provide care for terminally ill children, adults and their families, providing teams of health-care professionals and trained volunteers to support patients and families in the comfort of their homes, or in home-like in-patient facilities. Hospice care also includes bereavement programs.

Again this year, the event's major corporate sponsor is Lexus, the luxury car manufacturer.

Fund-raising proceeds are expected to exceed $300,000, as they did last year, through a sponsorship program of five categories of support ranging from $250 to $5,000, with perquisites including a pre-regatta reception, on-water viewing of the racing action from a spectator boat and a post-race awards party at a private waterfront estate.

In addition, special trophies for the event have been endowed by regatta supporters to recognize outstanding performance.


Among these is the Hospice Cup Trophy, donated by the friends and family of the late Dr. Ray Brown, awarded for consistent high performance over three consecutive Hospice Cup regattas. Last year's winner was David Gendell of Arnold, winner of PHRF C and the PHRF overall fleet with his crew on Bang.

Honorary chairman for Hospice Cup XII is William W. Warner, writer of the Pulitzer Prize-winning book "Beautiful Swimmers." An active conservationist and trustee emeritus of the Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Warner has fond memories of cruising the Chesapeake in his 35-foot ketch.

Among the unique features of Hospice Cup XII, which routinely attracts some of the most competitive racing boats in the area, is a Hospice Class for sailors who do not normally race, but wish to support the Hospice Cup.

Hospice Class sailors have their own start on the same starting line used by the other competitors, but use a separate course. Those who may feel intimidated due to limited racing experience can request on-water help from volunteers from the Naval Academy Sailing Squadron, who are available to sail with Hospice Class competitors.

This year's Hospice Class sailors will have a skippers' meeting the evening prior to the race, at 6 p.m. at the Naval Academy's Robert Crown Sailing Center. Hospice Class burgees and special instructions will be distributed then.

Entry deadline is Sept. 15; fee is $20, payable to Shearwater Sailing Club.


For more information on racing in Hospice Cup -- and especially in the Hospice Class -- call Race Committee Chairman John Stewart, (410) 268-5403. For sponsorship information, call Mary Radzik at Hospice Cup Inc., (703) 538-2062.