Early bird tickets for Baltimore’s BEST party on sale now!

State Arts Council will award grants to local artists


The Maryland State Arts Council will award grants totaling $173,000 to Maryland artists working in the disciplines of choreography, fiction, media, music composition, playwrighting, poetry, crafts, photography and visual arts.

Awards ranging from $1,000 to $6,000 were given to 82 applicants who were selected from a pool of 779.

A list of those who were awarded grants follows:

* Choreography: Lesa S. McLaughlin, Eva Anderson, Nathan Birch, Nilimma Devi, Elizabeth Rolland, Edward Stewart, Nancy Wanich-Romita and Kathy Wildberger.

* Fiction: Wayne Karlin, Jonathan Scott Fuqua, Doris Rochlin, Jane F. Brown, Ivy Goodman, Miriam Klevan, Julie Langsdorf, Sandy Livingston, Paul Shread and William G. Williams.

* Media: Lisa Lewenz, Edward A. Bishop, Leyan deBorja, Nelson J. Ginebra, Richard Hall, Margot Kernan, Allen D. Moore and T. Carlos Williams.

* Music Composition: Robert Hall Lewis, Robert Gibson and E. Marshall Ocker.

* New Genre, Visual Arts: Kristine Yuki Aono, Natalie Bookchin, Dorcas Kraybill, Christine Langr, Lynn Murphy and Debra Rubino.

* Playwrighting: Mark Berman, Christopher Graybill, Margaret Barton Driggs, Mark Scharf, Aldo Tassi and Darryl LeMont Wharton.

* Poetry: Roland Flint, Barbara Goldberg, Jim Henley, Kendra Kopelke, Natasha Saje, David Biespiel, Jane Satterfield, Barbara Hurd Wilson and Karen Zealand.

* Visual Arts, Crafts: Anthony Corradetti, Angela Franklin, David C. Powers, Douglas Baldwin, Susan Kelbanoff and Gina Pierleoni.

* Visual Arts, Photography: Jennifer Bishop, Dan Meyers, Clarke Bedford, Mark Harrell, Wendy Jacobs.

* Visual Arts, Three-Dimensional: Lisa Austin, Luis Flores, Robert A. Copskey, Marjetica Potrc, Floyd G. Roberts, Jeffrey Todd Smith, Ev Stone and Izumi Ueda.

* Visual Arts, Two-Dimensional: Catherine Behrent, Ricardo Hoegg, Mary Beth Muscara, Peter Walsh, Barbara Denrich, Taiwo DuVall, David A. Little, Ulysses Marshall, Bruce M. Widdows, William Bunting, Steven T. Fiscus, Richard D. Ford and Diane Kuthy.


The National Endowment for the Humanities has established electronic mail addresses to communicate with those seeking publications or grant applications, according to Suzanne Volpe, spokeswoman for the federal agency. The NEH is part of BITNET, an electronic-mail system connecting hundreds of colleges and customers.

The agency produces approximately 70 different publications each year.

The agency will still send its grant applications through the post office and require that applicants mail multiple copies of their grant proposals to Washington. Because of the requirement that grant proposals carry their applicants' signatures, Ms. Volpe does not envision a time when applicants can transmit proposals electronically.


Jed Gaylin has been appointed music director of the Hopkins Symphony Orchestra, according to the Johns Hopkins University. Mr. Gaylin, 29, also serves as music director of the Loudoun Orchestra in Leesburg, Va. He replaces Robert Black as music director of the Hopkins Symphony Orchestra.


The Spotlighters will hold auditions for its October production of "Other People's Money" at 7 p.m. July 18 and 19 at the theater, 817 St. Paul St. The production, directed by Richard Jackson, calls for two women aged 25-35, a woman aged 50-65, and three men aged 30-70. For details, call (410) 727-5765.

Mystery Cafe at Velleggia's, a murder mystery dinner theater in Philadelphia, will audition in Baltimore for actors to perform in "Lights, Camera, Murder," a Hollywood whodunit in which members of the audience become the guests at a mock Academy Awards banquet. The auditions are scheduled at 1 p.m. July 19 at Velleggia's, 829 Pratt St. Actors should be prepared to read and perform an upbeat musical selection. For details, call Michael Granato at (800) 598-0005.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad