ILF limits World rosters to 23 U.S. title defense will lose depth


At the 11th hour, the International Lacrosse Federation

legislated against the United States.

At its meeting in Hong Kong last Sunday -- the final day of tryouts for the U.S. men's team that will compete in next year's World Championships -- the ILF voted to reduce rosters from 26 to 23. Lacrosse Foundation executive director Steve Stenersen called from Hong Kong to notify the U.S. coaches.

"The other countries are trying to gain a competitive edge," said Loyola's Dave Cottle, a U.S. assistant coach. "Our strength is depth. My only complaint is that three fewer kids couldn't be on the team."

Cottle is "impressed" by the U.S. team, culled from 121 candidates in tryouts last weekend at Rutgers, that will defend its world championship July 20-30, 1994, in Manchester, England.

"The defense is excellent," Cottle said. "We have good team speed, especially on the midfield. The attack has a few dodgers and other guyswho can create from behind the cage and complement the midfielders."

Skip Lichtfuss, another U.S. assistant and coach of U.S. Club Lacrosse Association champion Mount Washington, likes the "mix of past U.S. team players and young kids." Everywhere he looks, Lichtfuss sees an outstanding athlete. "There are five Mount Washington players, which is the way it should be," said Lichtfuss, noting his team's victory over Brine of Boston in the USCLAchampionship game last month.

The veterans of the squad are midfielders John Tucker and Vin Sombrotto and goalie Larry Quinn, all on the U.S. team for the third time. Dave Pietramala, a former Division I Player of the Year, heads the list of seven former Johns Hopkins players on the team.

The U.S. team will defend its title against Canada, Australia, England, the Iroquois Nationals and, in its first appearance in the event, Japan.



(Club team in parentheses) Goalies: Sal LoCascio, Massachusetts '89 (Long Island-Hofstra); Larry Quinn, Johns Hopkins '85 (Maryland).

Attackmen: Kevin Cook, Cornell '84 (Windy City, Ill.); Scott Hiller, Massachusetts '90 (Brine, Mass.); Bill Miller, Hobart '91 (MAB Paints, Pa.); Mark Millon, Massachusetts '93; Mike Morrill, Johns Hopkins '88 (Mount Washington).

Midfielders: Todd Curry, Syracuse '87 (Mount Washington); Lindsay Dixon, Towson State '92 (Greene Turtle, Md.); Charlie Lockwood, Syracuse '94; Tony Millon, Towson State '91 (Chesapeake, Md.); Rob Shek, Towson State '91 (Mount Washington); Vin Sombrotto, Hofstra '80 (Long Island-Hofstra); Tim Soudan, Massachusetts '90 (Brine, Mass.); John Tucker, Johns Hopkins '84 (Maryland); Ryan Wade, North Carolina '94.

Defense: Joe Breschi, North Carolina '90 (Brine, Mass.) ; Zack Colburn, Penn '84 (Eagle's Eye, Pa.); John DeTommaso, Johns Hopkins '86 (Long Island); Steve Mitchell, Johns Hopkins '87 (New York AC); David Morrow, Princeton '93; Dave Pietramala, Johns Hopkins '89 (Mount Washington); Brian Voelker, Johns Hopkins '91 (Mount Washington).

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad