Seraph II beats the overnight weather Littlepage wins Potapskut race


One of the area's oldest sailing events is the Potapskut Sailing Association's Overnight Race, a 38-miler that has been contested annually for almost 60 years.

The origins of the event go back to the club's first location on Rock Creek, when the course went from the club's headquarters to Poole's Island.

Today, with the club on Blackhole Creek in Pasadena, the course takes the fleet from a start at Baltimore Light, to Sandy Point Light, to Swan Point, to the forward Craighill Channel Light and to Poole's Island Light before heading to the finish at Baltimore Light.

With the best corrected time in this year's three-class fleet of 21 starters last Saturday was Severna Park sailor David Littlepage with the crew aboard his C&C; 38 Seraph II, taking line honors as well as holding a solid corrected-time win in PHRF A.

"It was a pretty strange race," Littlepage said, describing wind and weather conditions from light, shifty air to a thunderstorm.

"We did very well on the first leg, because we went to the right side of the course and got a lift off of the Western Shore, and on the right we were out of the current. We got to Sandy Point Light with a big lead on all but one boat, which rounded ahead of us."

As he reached the next mark across the bay to Swan Point Channel, Littlepage said, a squall came through, putting his novice crew to the test.

"We managed that pretty well," he said. "We got the chute down quickly, and sailed under main alone for about 30 minutes in a pretty steady 30 knots from the north."

By the time Seraph II reached the Poole's Island Light and turned to complete the final leg, the wind had become light and southerly.

"It was real shifty for the rest of the night," Littlepage said. "We tacked on all the headers, and that seemed to pay off for us."

Potapskut SA Overnight Race

PHRF A (7 starters): 1. Seraph II, David Littlepage, Severna Park, 6:55:44 c.t.; 2. (no name), B. Mead, Baltimore, 7:02:53 c.t.; 3. Coyote, Gene Barnhart, Annapolis, 7:13:26 c.t.

PHRF B (7 starters): 1. Blind Luck, John Fowlkes, Annapolis, 7:07:41 c.t.; 2. Intuition, Howard Stroterhoff, Baltimore, 7:23:56 c.t.; 3. Hyder-Ally, Tom Price, Pasadena, 7:27:14 c.t.

PHRF C (7 starters): 1. Rebecca, Bill Paul, Pasadena, 7:24:43 c.t.; 2. Cold Duck, Schoolden/Wright, Baltimore, 7:25:44 c.t.; 3. Aguichant, Robert Stevenson, Chalfont, Pa., 7:32:28 c.t.

Visit the Leukemia Society

If you're not racing today, go to City Dock in Annapolis to visit the regatta headquarters for the Leukemia Cup.

Trophy ceremonies will be conducted late in the afternoon, but plenty of representatives of the Leukemia Society, the regatta and the sponsors will be on hand all day.

There may even be some hats and T-shirts left for sale.

Race results

Severn SA I-14/FD Invitational

June 19-20

International 14 (5 starters): 1. Roger Ewart-Smith, (address unavailable), 6.25 (2-2-1-1-1); 2. Sean Smith, Arnold, 12.75 (4-1-3-2-3); 3. Lou Phillips, Columbia, 14.75 (1-4-5-3-2).

Flying Dutchman (4 starters): 1. Guido Bertocci, Rockville, 5 (1-1-1-1-2); 2. Jeff Wrenn, Downington, Pa., 8.75 (2-2-2-2-1).

Severn SA Rickenbacker Regatta

June 20

Comet (5 starters): 1. Ridge Hall, Washington, 4.75 (2-2-1); 2. Elliott Oldak, Annapolis, 7.5 (1-1-DNC); 3. Mike Oehler, (address unavailable), 12 (5-5-2).

Rock Creek RA Harbour

Lighthouse Classic

June 12, 8.4 NM

PHRF A (5 starters): 1. Dragonfly, Jeff Klein, Pikesville; 2. Albatrossi, Dave Rossi, Severna Park; 3. Beep Beep, Dan Mitchell, Warwick.

PHRF B (4 starters): 1. Stat, Mel Tockman, Baltimore; 2. Blind Luck, John Fowlkes, Annapolis.

PHRF C (3 starters): 1. Desperado, Frank Courtright, Columbia.

SSA Spring III

June 12-13

Snipe (13 starters): 1. Henry Filter, Stevensville, 7 (2-2-3); 2. Roger Link, Harwood, 12 (5-5-2); 3. Hal Gilreath, Arlington, Va., 15.5 (PMS-1-1).

Day Sailer (10 starters): 1. Jack Colwell, Bethesda, 8 (3-2-3); 2. Curt Wagner, Annapolis, 9 (4-3-2); 3. Rob Bonney, Pasadena, 12.5 (1-1-DNC).

Comet (5 starters): 1. Terry Jackson, Annapolis, 7 (2-3-2); 2. Kathy Weber, Annapolis, 8.75 (4-4-1); 3. Elliott Oldak, Annapolis, 10.75 (1-2-DNC).

Laser (27 starters): 1. Peter McChesney, Annapolis, 11.75 (2-1-9); 2. Gary Smith, (address unavailable), 12 (6-4-2); 3. Matt Beck, (address unavailable), 15 (5-6-4); 4. Alden Shattuck, Annapolis, 23 (13-7-3); 5. Jeremy Wilson, Oxford, 26 (7-13-6).

Copyright © 2021, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad