Don’t miss Orioles players, John Means & Paul Fry, as they guest host at our Brews and O’s event!

WEST COUNTY--Crofton * Odenton * Fort Meade * Gambrills


Community, civic honors given out at Meade High

Meade High School honored the class of 1993 at the annual Senior Awards Program on May 26.

The following seniors received awards from community and civic organizations: Yvonne Queen, the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Scholarship; Lashelle Bailey, Tyletta Rider, Eurayn Harrison, Tavarus Marshall and Gregory Lucas, Anne Arundel County NAACP awards and scholarships; Janet Shin, the Laidlaw Environmental Services Award and Baltimore Washington Chamber's J. Donald Henyon Award; Thomas Stevens, the Norman Brewer Scholarship; Tiffany Rawls and Alesa Rubendall, the Delta Pi Omega AKA scholarships; Stacy Witt and Hyung Kwak, the Discover Card Tribute scholarships; Anita McElroy, the Chesapeake Bay Roost of the Old Crows Scholarship Award; Holly Lanham, the Fleet Business School Scholarship; Maria Lagares, the Laurel Moose Lodge Scholarship; Tammy Pessini and Sharon Kling, Maryland House of Delegates Scholarship; Yesenia Perdomo, the Samuel P. Massey Award and Scholarship; Kari Hyland, Melanie Cover and Nicole Totten, the NCO Wives Club Award; Alexander Dutko, Ms. McElroy and Ms. Witt, the Fort Meade Officers' Wives Club Scholarship awards; Djenne' Lindsey and Ms. Totten, the Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Scholarship; Jennifer Cook, the Provinces Civic Association Scholarship; Ms. Kwak, the Capital Gazette Newspapers $10,000 All Star Award; Ms. Kwak, Ms. Shin and Ms. Witt, Scholarships for Scholars; and Daniel Sancomb and Mr. Stevens, the Cedric Peoples Scholarship.

College scholarships were awarded to the following: Jamal Everette, Florida A&M; University; Ms. Kwak, Harvard and Radcliffe colleges, and Johns Hopkins and Stanford universities; Matthew A. Brown, George Washington University; Ms. Witt, Hood College, the College of Misericordia and Russell Sage College; Gregory Moffitt, the University of Miami and University of Southern California; Ms. Harrison, Morgan State University; Tina Peabody, Southern Virginia College for Women; Alice Kang, Trinity College; Mr. Stevens, New York University and Washington College; Ms. McElroy, the University of Richmond, New Mexico Tech, Oberlin College and Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Ms. Shin, the University of Maryland College Park; and Samir Jain, Adnan Khattak and Sharon King, the University of Maryland Baltimore County.

The departmental award winners are Gregory Falter, art; J. Tyler Wilson, business; Selena Hines, English; Susan Sommers, foreign languages; Damon Bright, JROTC; Ms. Kwak, math and science; Paul Rogers, media; Ira Brown, music; Ms. Rawls, office technology; Clarence Peacock, physical education; Ms. Witt, social studies; and Michael Whipps, vocational experience.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad