Ohio-bound girls to match sticks with nation's best Girls lacrosse


Players from many of the Baltimore area's top high school girls lacrosse teams will compete in the schoolgirl division at the United States Women's Lacrosse Association National Tournament on Memorial Day weekend at Ohio Wesleyan.

Selected on May 2 from 125 candidates from Baltimore, Virginia, Washington and the Chesapeake area, the 40 players make up two teams, South I and South II, and play New England, Long Island, New Jersey, Philadelphia, the Midwest, Colorado and California.

Named to South I were attackmen Michele DeJuliis, Loch Raven; Jody Cowan, Oldfields; Johanna Khouri, St. Paul's; Trish Cummings, Notre Dame Prep; Liza Shoemaker, Garrison Forest; and midfielders Peggy Boutilier, Roland Park; Erin Wylde, Severna Park; Kerri Johnson, Perry Hall; Heather Sinclair, Arundel; Katie Loovis, Seton Keough; Lindsay Davidson, Sidwell Friends; Jessica Hull, Broadneck; Cristi Samaras, Annapolis; and Elizabeth Schaffner, St. Mary's.

Also selected were defensemen Aubin McCarthy and Andrea Krumholz, Friends; Julie Jakum, C. Milton Wright; and Caroline Boetzelen, Garrison Forest; and goalies Dani Fostik, Liberty, and Heather Castle, Notre Dame Prep.

Wendy Kridel of Roland Park and Courtney Vaughn of Liberty will coach South I.

On South II are attackmen Chrissy Primavera, Liberty; Casey Coleman, Sidwell Friends; Megan Riley, South River; Tressa Campbell, Severna Park; and Dara Brunelli, St. Stephen's (Va.); and midfielders Suzannah Johnson, Broadneck; Tice Burke, St. Paul's; Emily Franey, Severn; Amy Brew, Annapolis; Melissa Cully, Roland Park; Allison Cox and Holton Arms, Bethesda; and Kristin Bull and Julia Morrill, Potomac (Va.).

Defensemen Kathy McCafferty, Severna Park; Cory Samaras and Stephy Samaras, Annapolis; Kate Gemmell, St. Stephen's; and Jessie Nathanson, Holton Arms; and goalies Audrey Powers, Mount de Sales, and Kate Brew, Annapolis, were also chosen.

South II coaches are Amy Newell, from Episcopal High in Virginia and Joanne Brew of Annapolis.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad