Segreti, McBride are named Teachers of Year at AACC CENTRAL COUNTY * Arnold * Broadneck * Severna Park * Crownsville * Millersville


Anne Arundel Community College has named its Teachers o the Year.

Nominated by students in a competition sponsored by the student association, the winners are full-time professor and American studies coordinator Gregory J. Segreti of Annapolis and part-time English literature and composition instructor Ann Patricia McBride of Severna Park.

Adviser of the Year is Jane Newins of Kent Island, assistant professor of English and journalism and director of AACC's journalism program.

A new award, Outstanding Legislative Intern, was presented to Rita Akehurst of Pasadena, an intern for state Sen. John A. Cade of Severna Park.

The award is in memory of Eldridge B. Duffee Jr., who developed the collegiate internship program.


With shovel in hand, former headmistress Louise Sivy assisted in last month's groundbreaking ceremonies for six new classrooms and a multipurpose room at Chesapeake Academy.

Other academy dignitaries also participated in the ceremony, including Headmistress Jane Pehlke, academy founders Helen Braun, Ethel Rew and Pat Troy, board Chairman Robert Bowen, and student representatives.

The youthful excavation crew members were Jonathan Djordjevic, George Everly, Erin Feheley, Darshan Kharod, Katie McWeeney, Ashley Newman, Nikki Orthner, Britton Qualye, Jack Radowich, Joshua Smith and Katie Williams.


If you like to explore not-necessarily-new shops, then check out Goodwill's new Fashion Outlet in the Northway Shopping Center in Millersville.

The shop carries designer label clothing, furniture and housewares, and is open 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wednesdays through Saturdays. Information: 987-9740.


For less time at the drawing board, try computer-aided drawing at a free workshop at 6:30 p.m. Monday in the Careers Center at the community college. No computer experience is necessary.

Call 541-2435.


The Bereavement Center of Hospice of the Chesapeake has new summer hours for its Suicide Support Group.

Anyone grieving the death of a loved one by suicide is welcome at 7:30 p.m. on the second Monday of each month during June, July and August at the Millersville office.

For information, call 987-2129 a week before the meeting.


Jones Elementary School has an idea worth filing under "Things to Try": a student activity hour.

At the annual event, parents, friends and teachers demonstrate skills not usually taught in school, including sign language, counting in a foreign language, nutritious snack-making and other simple cooking, origami, photography, storytelling and crafts.

Information: Principal Sheila Kendall at 222-6565.


Chapter R of the P.E.O. International Sisterhood has installed new officers: Maribelle Carter, president; Sylvia Engwall, vice president; Janet Crabb, recording secretary; Barb Novak, corresponding secretary; Ann Clegg, treasurer; Sara Frances Shay, chaplain; and Dot Warfield, guard.

Founded in 1869 at Iowa Wesleyan College in Mount Pleasant, Iowa, P.E.O. is a philanthropic organization that promotes educational opportunities for women.


Theatrical productions at St. Martin's-in-the-Field Episcopal Church provide more than entertainment.

At the conclusion of its production of "Mary, Mary," the St. Martin's Community Theatre presented $544 to Hospice of the Chesapeake. Representing the theatrical group were Bob Davies, Karen Eske, Mary James, Walt League and Anne Marie Vourlos.

The community theater's current production, "Dick Whittington and His Amazing Cat," continues through Sunday at the church on Benfield Road.

Information: 544-8574.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad