St. Paul's Watson tops Kelly Award winners


The C. Markland Kelly Awards, given annually to the bes lacrosse players in the Maryland Scholastic Association, were announced at last Wednesday's Kelly awards banquet.

This year's recipients were St. Paul's Michael Watson in the A Conference, Friends' Spencer Deering in the B Conference, Forest Park's Ronald Foster in the 4A-2A division and Southern's Chris Lewis in the 3A division.

Watson (40 goals, 34 assists), the overall winner, is an All-Metro pick and an All-American who is headed for the University of Virginia.

His 222 career points on 151 goals and 71 assists leave him third on the school's all-time scoring list, four points behind Larry LeDoyen and 12 behind Tim Whiteley, last year's Baltimore Sun All-Metro Player of the Year.

Deering, who is headed for the University of North Carolina, has 32 goals and 30 assists this year. He was last year's BB Conference Player of the Year with 30 goals and 33 assists, leading the Quakers to the BB Conference title.

Friends meets Park at UMBC Friday for the B Conference crown.

Lewis, a midfielder with 29 goals and 17 assists this year, led Southern (9-2) to the city's 3A league title and a playoff berth. The Bulldogs' all-time leading scorer with 103 goals and 58 assists, he is considering Johns Hopkins and Goucher.

With Foster (45 goals, seven assists) in the lineup, the Foresters (10-3) compiled a three-year 47-5 record, including titles in the C and B Conferences before sharing this year's 4A-2A crown with Poly and City.

An all-conference player last year, Foster is considering Towson State and Salisbury State.

Private baseball tournament

The inaugural Maryland private school baseball championships will be held Monday through May 29 and involve 10 teams from around the state.

Monday's first-round games begin at 4 p.m., featuring No. 9 St. Maria Goretti (Hagerstown) at No. 8 Bishop Walsh (Cumberland) and No. 10 St. John's Prospect Hall (Frederick) at No. 7 Cardinal Gibbons.

Next Wednesday, the St. Maria Goretti-Bishop Walsh winner PTC faces top-seeded Riverdale Baptist, the Washington area's top-ranked team.

Also next Wednesday, No. 2 seed McDonogh will play the St. John's Prospect Hall-Gibbons winner. No. 3 Mount St. Joseph plays host to No. 6 Pallotti (Laurel), and No. 5 John Carroll meets the Heights School (Potomac), the No. 4 seed.

Friday's games are scheduled for 4 and 7 p.m., with the highest remaining seed playing in the later game at Joe Cannon Stadium in Harmans in Anne Arundel County. The championship game is scheduled for Saturday at 7 p.m. at Joe Cannon.

Greenwood going abroad

Walbrook's Jamee Greenwood has been chosen to represent the United States as a member of the Maryland All-Stars basketball team.

The team leaves in early July to compete in the Limerick Classic Tournament in Limerick, Ireland, against teams from Ireland, England, Scotland and the United States.

Softball scholarships

For the third straight year, the Maryland State Amateur Softball Association Scholarship Committee has chosen six players who will each receive a $1,000 scholarship.

This year's winners include Lori Congdon (Chesapeake-AA), Tina Marie Lotz (Eastern Vo-Tech), Kerry Lee Ann Rogers (Parkville), Lauren Morris (Queen Anne's) and Bonnie Lawson (John Carroll), each of whom has participated in the ASA's Junior Olympic program.

The crusade continues

St. Paul's graduate Chip Lonsdale, a graduating senior at Notre Dame, set a school lacrosse record for faceoffs, winning 219. He helped Notre Dame to its third appearance in the NCAA's Division I playoffs.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad