Eckard gets 33 mayoral votes in dissident write-in campaign CENTRAL -- Union Mills * Westminster * Sandymount


A last-minute write-in campaign, designed to show displeasure with current city officials, garnered 33 mayoral votes for former Councilman Thomas Eckard in Monday's Westminster election.

Mr. Eckard, the owner of Eckard's Wallpaper and Paint on Liberty Street, said Monday that he supported the write-in campaign "to send a signal to City Hall that all is not well."

Campaign organizers, whom he declined to name, were concerned about a lack of open communication among the council, mayor and public, he said.

The second-highest number of write-in votes, seven, went to council President William F. Haifley, who did not run for re-election.

Four people voted for Councilman Kenneth A. Yowan. Former Councilman Mark S. Snyder received three votes and former Mayor LeRoy L. Conaway received two.

One write-in vote, for "Somebody," was an obvious prank.

The following residents received one write-in vote each: former Council President David S. Babylon Jr., Harry Bracken, James B. Brown, Westminster developer Michael Oakes, City Councilwoman Rebecca Orenstein, Romeo Valianti of Main Street, Carroll County Democratic campaign coordinator Ellen Willis, Richard A. Yowan and Wm. R. Zepp.

Two write-in votes for City Council seats were cast, one for Mr. Haifley and one for D. Halstad.

Candidate Damian Halstad won a seat on the City Council, but the write-in vote, if it was intended for him, was not necessary; Mr. Halstad's name was printed on the ballot.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad