Neall names 7 to serve on ethics commission


County Executive Robert R. Neall has appointed seven citizens, including a former Circuit Court judge, to the newly formed Anne Arundel County Ethics Commission.

The commission members are: former Judge E. Mackall Childs of Annapolis; Paul G. Goetzke of Annapolis; Julie D. Goodwin of Brooklyn Park; William L. Mahan of Pasadena; Myrna Siegel of Annapolis; the Rev. Leslie E. Werner Jr. of Crofton; and Linda S. Zahn of Millersville.

L A commission chairman will be selected at the first meeting.

Four of the commission members are Democrats and three are Republicans. The charter amendment creating the commission states that no more than four members can belong to one party.

Because all of the appointments are subject to County Council approval, a resolution will be introduced to the council Monday night.

The commissioners, who serve without pay, will begin their terms May 1.

The ethics commission was created by a charter amendment approved by county voters at last November's election. Previously, ethics issues were handled by the county attorney, who is appointed by the county executive. Mr. Neall suggested establishing an independent commission by charter, instead of ordinance, so that it could be changed only by county voters.

The commission's brief is to investigate complaints of violations of the county ethics law.

One of the commission's first tasks will be to deal with council chairman David G. Boschert's amendment to the ethics law, which seeks to prevent lobbying by former county employees and elected officials for one year after they leave government. Mr. Boschert's colleagues tabled the bill two weeks ago, calling it too vague and possibly unconstitutional.

Judge Childs said that the commission will also take a look at the current ethics law.

"What we want to do is review what we have and see how it stands up against the accepted norm of what is in government, especially in the federal government," Judge Childs said.

Judge Childs, a Democrat, served as chief administrative judge for the Fifth Judicial Circuit of Maryland from 1965 to 1981. He will serve a one-year term.

Mr. Goetzke is an associate with the Annapolis law firm of Council, Baradel, Kosmerl & Nolan. A Republican, he will serve a one-year term.

Ms. Goodwin, a Democrat, serves as general counsel to Morgan State University. She was a member of the legal staff of the University of Maryland at College Park and will serve a two-year term.

Mr. Mahan is a vice president of Maryland National Bank and manages the branch at Church Circle, Annapolis. He is a Republican and will serve a three-year term.

Ms. Siegel is a self-employed ethics consultant. She was an ethics counsel for 10 years for the Securities and Exchange Commission. A Democrat, she will serve a three-year term.

Mr. Werner, also a Democrat, is director of Good Shepherd Pastoral Counseling Center in Silver Spring and Baldwin Memorial Counseling Center in Millersville. He is an assistant pastor at Baldwin Memorial United Methodist Church. He will serve a two-year term.

Ms. Zahn is executive director of the Severna Park Chamber of Commerce. She previously served as the executive director of the Mid-Atlantic Fisheries Development Foundation. She is a Republican and will serve a four-year term.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad