2A-1A schools grab ahold of All-Star title Wrestling


The 2A-1A squad won last night's seventh annual senior All-Star Wrestling Classic at Johns Hopkins, beating the Private Schools, 37-28, and tying 4A-3A, 27-27.

The Private Schools edged the 4A-3A, 29-26.

Owings Mills All-American and three-time state champion Grant Johnson (171 pounds, 37-0) beat 4A-3A champion Greg Booth (32-3), 22-10, and took 34 seconds to pin St. Mary's Maryland Scholastic Association runner-up Scott Thompson to win the Outstanding Upper-Weight Wrestler award.

The lower-weight MVP was Gilman's MSA champion, Gerard Harrison (112, 37-1), who scored a first-period pin of last year's 2A-1A state champion Jeremy Myers (30-2, North Carroll) and flattened Laurel's Danny Suite (32-2) in 35 seconds.

Old Mill's fifth-ranked state champion Todd Hultgren (152, 32-6) won, 12-7, over the 2A-1A's sixth-ranked, state runner-up Mike Brammer (32-5, Loch Raven), but lost, 20-5, to Mount St. Joseph's No. 2-ranked, two-time MSA champion Kevin Neville (40-3). Neville decked Brammer in 44 seconds.

"I wanted to pin him in less than a minute and 23," said Neville, referring to the time it took Rising Sun's top-ranked two-time champion Jason Townsend to pin Brammer last week. "No way am I No. 2."

Johnson's Owings Mills teammate and three-time state champion Gregg Kessler (135, 37-0) had a technical fall over Calvert Hall's sixth-ranked Shawn King and a 5-3, overtime win over Randallstown state champion Justin Grodnitzky, whom he had pinned earlier. King pinned Grodnitzky.

Randallstown's top-ranked, two-time state champion Johnny Montgomery (145, 35-1) beat the 2A-1A's Howard County champ, Josh Stokes, 10-0, and pinned Gilman's MSA runner-up, Mark Shavers.

Another Randallstown state champion, Kent Morrison (160, 34-3), blanked Northeast's 2A-1A champion, Al Grunder, 8-0, and beat Riverdale Baptist's Greg David, 5-2.

Pikesville's two-time 2A-1A champion, Cory Setlen (125, 14-2), rebounding from ineligibility, scored a technical fall over Gilman's Mike Saunders, and won, 11-6, over Wheaton's 4A-3A champion, Steve Barwick (30-2).

In an upset, Calvert Hall's two-time MSA champion Brendan James (130, 32-3) won, 3-2, over Mardela's two-time 2A-1A champion Mike Lowe (30-3), who lost for only the second time in three years. James nearly upset Paint Branch's three-time 4A-3A champion Craig Middledorf, losing, 4-3.

Smithsburg's top-ranked, two-time 2A-1A champion Kris Kretsinger (189, 32-0) edged Loyola's second-ranked, two-time MSA champion Dave Daniecki (36-3), 3-0. Both wrestlers beat Thomas Johnson's state runner-up, Stuart Quay.

Copyright © 2019, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad