Dailey and Henson shine in Dream Team's 37-6 win


Duke Dailey's scoring and T. C. Henson's rebounding led the Severn Dream Team to a 37-6 win over Michael Adams League foe East Glen Burnie (0-5) in an 8-10 boys basketball game Saturday.

Dailey paced the Dream Team (6-0) with 10 points, four rebounds and two steals. Henson grabbed a team-record 13 rebounds and contributed six points.

Louis Benson also scored six points and had three rebounds and a steal.

Daron Paschell had four points, five steals and a rebound, and Eric Comocho had three points and two steals. Bayne Brown and Brian Tokarcik each scored two points and three rebounds.

David Williams Jr. helped with six rebounds to go with two blocked shots and an assist, and Feltrin Davis added two points and two rebounds. Travis Holmgren helped defensively.

* 17-and-under boys: The Severn Warriors evened its record at 3-3 with a 45-22 win over Davidsonville Downs in the David Robinson League Sunday.

D'Andre Heirs led all scorers with 15 points. Ashaun Nelson and Jeremy Martin each added seven points.

Chris Saulter and Jeff Green scored five each, and Te-Rah Hendricks posted three. Other Warriors who scored included Derek Mileaf (two) and John Roche (one).

Bobby Malloy and Joe Darnell led Davidsonville with 10 each, and B. J. Dove added two.

* 14-17 boys -- The Arden Archers defeated Brooklyn Park, 39-34, in a David Robinson League matchup Sunday at North County High.

Shawn Moyer led the Archers (6-0) with a game-high 15 points, and Rob Miller added 10 points. Greg Sabo scored five points for the Archers, and Chris Martin, Eric Schwink, Brian Betz and Greg Pfaff contributed two points each.

Frank Jennings paced Brooklyn Park (4-1) with 12 points. Ron Rooks added nine points, and Mike Cherney seven.

Indoor soccer

The Severna Park Kickers under-14 girls soccer team defeated EDRECO over the weekend, 4-0.

Jessica Baker, Catherine Larsen, Chrissy Kohlhepp and Shelly Guy scored one goal each for the Kickers and Tracy Mrazeck added an assist. Amber Wilkerson and Sarah Meehan played well.

Junior swimming

The Naval Academy Junior Swim Club's annual B-Buster Swim Meet at Lejeune Hall last weekend attracted nearly 700 swimmers from 20 area clubs.

Navy swimmers won 40 of the individual events during the three-day meet.

Michael Donlin of Annapolis led the team with four wins in the boys' 11-12 bracket. Donlin was first in the 100-meter freestyle in 1 minute, 7.59 seconds, 200 free (2:28.02), 50 backstroke (35.79) and 100 back (1:20.08).

Jonathan Vander-Vliet was first in the boys' 8-and-under 50 breaststroke in a time of 52.36. In the same age group, Michael Garcia won the 50 butterfly in 44.17.

Winners for Navy in the 9-10 age bracket included Suzanne Gallagher (girls 100 free, 1:16.98), Lindsay Mathers (girls 200 freestyle, 2:42.45), Heather Young (girls 50 back, 41.68), Kristen Bayly (girls 50 breast, 45.71), Nathan Hall (boys 100 breast, 1:41.49) and Joe Donahue (boys 50 back, 40.33).

Navy's first-place recipients in the 11-12 age group were triple winners Marc Mooney (100 breast, 50 fly, 200 IM) and Stephanie Mitas (100 free, 100 fly, 200 breast); double winners Timothy Walters (50 free, 50 breast), Alexis Dabbs (50 back, 100 back); and single-event winners Robin Betz (200 free), Nicole Brannock (50 breast), Lindsay Vuolo (100 breast), Erin O'Brien (50 fly) and Brendan Sheehan (100 IM).

Annamarie Lyst was a triple winner in the 15-18 girls bracket. Lyst won the 200 freestyle (2:22.30), 400 free (4:59.86) and 400 IM (5:51.18). Erin Bishop won the 17-18 100 back and 100 breast events and Billy Bayly won the boys' 15-18 100 breast.

Whitney Raven won in the girls' open division in the 200 breast, and Maggie Fletcher took first in the 15-18 100 free.

Brook O'Neill and Krista Zaleski were the Navy champs in the 13-14 age group. O'Neill's took first in the boys' 100 freestyle (1:03.22) and Zaleski won in the 200 backstroke (2:42.99).

Among some of the others placing for Navy during the meet were Scott Clempner, Megan Donahue, Gerard Ricciotti, Gregory Mitas, Hayes Magnuson, Paul Magnuson, Nicholas Garcia, Justin Hall, Lindsay Mathwick, Michael Suriano, Krista Gerstenlauer, Diana Mytas, Alex Golod, Paul Ford, Chrissy Boschert, Shannon Sanborn, Elizabeth Fowler, Paul McDonald and Lisa Rittmeyer.

Copyright © 2020, The Baltimore Sun, a Baltimore Sun Media Group publication | Place an Ad