Manchester, Warriors dominate tournament Two wrestling clubs win 15 of 18 titles

Manchester and the Warriors were the big winners in Sunday's third annual Carroll County Junior Wrestling Tournament at Francis Scott Key High School.

The two wrestling clubs combined to win 15 of 18 weight classes at the Westminster Elks-sponsored event, which drew wrestlers ages 5 to 15 from each of Carroll County's four wrestling teams.


The eight Warriors winning individual weight titles were Kellen Weber (55), Jared Zillmer (75), Andy Seal (95), Josh Zillmer (115), Jeremy Lignelli (122), Justin Weber (130), Charlie Conaway (145) and Mike Chenoweth (heavyweight).

Manchester dominated at the lighter weights, with Tyler Graham (50), Tyler Alexander (60), Fran Jackson (65), James Holmes (70), Randy Holmes (85), Adam Boog (90) and Eddy Davis (107) winning titles.


Francis Scott Key got firsts from Lee Crowl (45) and Tim Beale (100).

Westminster's Bobby Biden won at 80.

Finishing second were Pat Maloff, Manchester (45); Geoff Leeper, Manchester (50); Jeremiah DeMario, Manchester (55); Nate Yinger, Francis Scott Key (60); Bryan Hamper, Warriors (65); Chris Reiter, Westminster (70); Daren Hooper, Francis Scott Key (75); Jim Reiter, Westminster (80); Joe Smith, Warriors (85); Mike Muller, Warriors (90); Matt Yinger, Francis Scott Key (95); Tim Sharkey, Westminster (100); Jason Blair, Westminster (107); Dameon Davis, Manchester (115); Dan Alberter, Warriors (122); Ryan Banks, Westminster (130); Chad Counts, Warriors (145); and Jason Simons, Manchester (150).

Third were Eric Hamper, Warriors (45); Josh Corkran, Westminster (50); Jason Brown, Westminster (55); Dan Patterson, Warriors (60); Zach Maloff, Manchester (65); Don Chiaruttini, Francis Scott Key (70); Scott Wachter, Warriors (75); Jessie Stank, Warriors (80); Grant Lindsay, Francis Scott Key (85); Billy Null, Francis Scott Key (90); Todd Bosley, Manchester (95); Jason Hamper, Warriors (100); Andy Miller, Manchester (107); Kevin Jeffress, Warriors (115); Craig Hann, Manchester (122); Guy MacKenzie, Manchester (130); and Colin Eutsler, Manchester (145).

Fourth were Dave Shelly, Francis Scott Key (50); Dustin Whaley, Westminster (55); Brian Owings, Francis Scott Key (60); Ron Howard, Francis Scott Key (65); Matt Myers, Manchester (70); Wyatt Deiaco, Manchester (75); John Muse, Francis Scott Key (80); Mike Kline, Westminster (85); Dave Spicer, Westminster (90); Steve Cahoon, Francis Scott Key (95); Brit Steele, Warriors (100); Chris Putman, Francis Scott Key (107); Ron Henry, Westminster (115); Tony Barbera, Manchester (122); Mike Saylor, Warriors (130); and Jim Sharkey, Westminster (145).

Placing fifth were Tim Owings, Francis Scott Key (50); Trent Constantine, Francis Scott Key (55); Eddie Grimes, Westminster Christopher Steele, Warriors (65); Joe Putman, Francis Scott Key (70); Dan Whitcomb, Francis Scott Key (75); Phil Valenza, Westminster (90); Keith Knutson, Warriors (95); Mike Steele, Warriors (107); Ryan MacKenzie, Manchester (122); Steve Sharkey, Westminster (130); and Joe Rivera, Francis Scott Key (145).

Sixth were Mike Mundorf, Westminster (50); Matt Wilson, Francis Scott Key (60); Ben Mundorf, Westminster (65); Matt Whitcomb, Francis Scott Key (70); Tim Cole, Manchester (75); Steve Shelly,Francis Scott Key (90); Andy Barnes, Westminster (95); Jared Brown, Westminster (107); Greg Handley, Westminster (122); and Eric Houseknecht, Francis Scott Key (145).

Ten Carroll County youngsters won championships and numerous others placed in the Maryland Junior Wrestling League's Age-Weight Tournament Saturday at Francis Scott Key High.


The winners were Francis Scott Key's Lee Crowl (45, age 6-under), Brian Owings (60, 9-10), Grant Lindsay (85, 13-15) and Joe Rivera (150, 13-15); Westminster's Dave Spicer (90, 11-12) and Ryan Banks (130, 11-12); and the Warriors' Matt Richard (65, 9-10), Neil Boger (75, 11-12), Steve McKenzie (95, 9-10) and Matt Histon (unlimited, 9-10).

Second were Francis Scott Key's Billy Null (90, 11-12); Westminster's Mike Mundorf (50, 6-under); the Warriors' Nick Kraus (65, 9-10), Tommy Freedman (85, 11-12), Mark Hoffman (100, 13-15) and Mike Saylor (130, 11-12).

Placing third were Westminster's Travis Mohlhenrich (65, 9-10), Bryan Ayres (90, 13-15), Jared Brown (107, 11-12) and Steve Sharkey (130, 11-12); the Warriors' Keith Knutson (100,

Kevin Logan (107, 13-15), Aaron Ward (122, 13-15) and John Thompson (unlimited, 11-12); and Manchester's Patrick Maloff (45, 8-under).

Finishing fourth were Westminster's Josh Corkran (50, 8-under) and Dustin Albaugh (heavyweight, 13-15); the Warriors' Jeff Beck (50, 6-under), Matt Fogle (60, 8-under), David Centineo (65, 8-under) and Eric Boger (100, 13-15); and Manchester's Mike Brown (115, 11-12), Ryan MacKenzie (122, 13-15) and Guy Mackenzie (140, 13-15).

Indoor softball


Wheeler Chevrolet-Plymouth swept three games to wi Saturday's softball world series at the Four Seasons indoor sports facility near Hampstead.

Timmy Winters, Doug Green and Mike Beam led the attack in the opener, in which Wheeler led all the way in a 15-3 romp over M and M.

In its second game, however, Wheeler had to come from four runs down to get by Towne Pride, 11-9.

In the finale, Wheeler pitcher Glen Monroe shut out the Nasty Boys, 3-0, and Robin Seipp, Winters and Green drove in the runs.