Hall of Fame to induct first woman Sinclair enters posthumously

Rosabelle Sinclair, who started the first lacrosse team at Bryn Mawr School in Baltimore and was the first to introduce lacrosse for females in America, today will become the first woman inducted into the Baltimore-based Lacrosse Hall of Fame.

Sinclair, a graduate of St. Leonard's School in Scotland, where women's lacrosse originated, introduced the sport at Bryn Mawr in 1926. After convincing parents that lacrosse was safe for their daughters, Sinclair began what is now the oldest interscholastic girls lacrosse team in the country.


Sinclair, who died in 1978 at age 87, will be inducted posthumously during ceremonies at Oriole Park at Camden Yards.

The induction class of 1992 also includes six men who will be recognized for their contributions to the sport: J. Douglas Radebaugh, Sterling "Skeet" Chadwick, Joseph A. Cuozzo, Oren R. Lyons Jr., Eamon McEneaney and Ray Van Orman.


Radebaugh played for the University of Maryland's national championship teams of 1973 and 1975 and is the 26th Terrapin inducted into the Lacrosse Hall of Fame. He was a first-team All-American in 1975 and a two-time second-team selection. In 1975, Radebaugh received the McLaughlin Award as the outstanding Division I midfielder.

Van Orman, a Cornell graduate, was an All-American football player who had never seen or played lacrosse until he was hired by Johns Hopkins University as head football coach in 1921. He became the head lacrosse coach at Hopkins in 1926 and won the national championship his first year as coach.

He remained head coach at Hopkins until 1934, with four undefeated seasons and national championships in 1926, 1927 and 1928. He died in 1954 at age 71.

Chadwick, a two-time, first-team All-American, is the second Washington & Lee player to be inducted. In 1974 he received the Kelly Award as the nation's top goalie and was selected team Most Valuable Player.

Cuozzo is the first SUNY at Cortland player to be inducted. A midfielder, he played two years at Cortland before taking on the coaching position at Ward Melville High School in New York in 1969. Since then, Cuozzo has coached his team to a 451-44 record with four state championships, nine Long Island championships, 16 Suffolk County titles and 22 league championships.

A goalie at Syracuse, Lyons was a two-time, third-team All-American in 1957 and 1958.

McEneaney, a three-time, first-team All-America attackman, is the seventh Cornell player to be inducted. He ranks second on Cornell's all-time scoring list with 256 points.