CBYRA honors Keith with President's Award

The Chesapeake Bay Yacht Racing Association held its Region II and III high point trophy presentation ceremonies after its annual general meeting Saturday in Annapolis.

Other achievements were recognized by CBYRA, including overall divisional winners for the high point season and for Annapolis Race Week, the Corinthian Performance Improvement Award to the sailor showing the greatest improvement during the 1992 season, Race Committees of the Year and the President's Award for outstanding contribution to the association.


Receiving the President's Award was Harry Keith of Annapolis, a Naval Academy professor and past commodore of the Annapolis Yacht Club, who has served CBYRA for many years in numerous capacities, including its long-term chairman of the Rules & Appeals Committee.

In addition, Keith serves as a U.S. Sailing Senior Judge and this area's Regional Administrative Judge.


Keith is the author of "SailScor," a sophisticated race and regatta scoring computer program widely used by yacht clubs throughout the Chesapeake Bay region.

"He was really my personal mentor," said outgoing CBYRA president Tom Curtis. "I also felt Harry was really instrumental in helping me bring about the increased cooperation between all the clubs in the area, which is an important thing which really has improved this year."

The prestigious Labrot Trophy, for the best overall competitor in the Handicap Division, including PHRF, IMS, MORC and Multihull classes bay-wide, went to Region IV sailor Sledd Shelhorse of Virginia Beach, Va., for his achievements with Promises in IMS South. The J. F. Healy Memorial Trophy for best overall in the multi-class Cruising One-Design Division was awarded to Annapolitan Jeff Todd, who sailed his J/35 Hot Toddy to a near-perfect record.

Geoff Schneider of Annapolis was the winner of the Corinthian Cask for best overall One-Design Division sailor. This was Schneider's second win of the overall divisional trophy, after several years of winning high point in El Toro class.

Recognized for the greatest improvement in performance over lastyear was Pasadena sailor Jack O'Brien, skipper of his Catalina 27 Finnegan's Wake.

This award, established six years ago, is determined from nominees submitted in November by each CBYRA-sanctioned class and is based on factors including previous racing experience, the captain's role on the boat, finishing position in high point competition and relative improvement of the boat over a short period of time.

Annapolitan Tom French, who won high point in PHRF A-2 in Region III with his Olson 30 Moonlighting, was awarded the Lady Anne Arundel Trophy as the highest scoring skipper who lives in Anne Arundel County.

French, who won the largest PHRF class on the bay by a relatively substantial margin, also had the highest high point score of any PHRF competitor in Regions I, II, or III.


' CBYRA Annual Awards

President's Award: Harry H. Keith Jr., Annapolis.

Race Committee of the Year Awards: Handicap & Cruising One-Design, Fishing Bay Yacht Club; One-Design, Gibson Island Yacht Squadron, Fun Days; Championships, Severn Sailing Association & Eastport Yacht Club, 1992 J/24 World Championship.

Labrot Trophy (best overall, Handicap Division): Promises, William S. "Sledd" Shelhorse, Virginia Beach, Va. (IMS South).

J. F. Healy Memorial Trophy (best overall, Cruising One-Design Division): Hot Toddy, Jeff Todd, Annapolis (J/35).

Corinthian Cask Award (best overall, One-Design Division): Ferdinand, Geoff Schneider, Annapolis (El Toro).


Corinthian Performance Improvement Award: Finnegan's Wake, John O'Brien, Pasadena (Catalina 27).

Lady Anne Arundel Trophy: Moonlighting, Thomas French, Annapolis (PHRF A-2 Region III).

Annapolis Race Week Special Awards

City of Annapolis Trophy (best overall performance): Houdini, Smith/Scott, Oxford/Annapolis (J/30).

Crossland Trophy (best overall, Cruising One-Design Division): Houdini, Smith/Scott.

Silhouette Trophy (best overall, PHRF Division): The Simpsons, Thompson/Shannahan, St. Michaels.


Trig Bowl (best overall, IMS Division): Moxie, George Collins, Gibson Island.

Calvert Trophy (Best overall performance by an Anne Arundel County Yacht): Moxie, Collins.